Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-06-2009, 06:56   #1
Don't ask if you can't handle it
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: On the boat somewhere
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 12,312
Depth Meter

My depth meter likes to go to a shollow reading (0-2') every once in while. O f course it only happens when in a harbor it seems; making me go into a panic of grounding. Happened yesterday while pulling to the dock for water. Had a good reading of 7-9' (need 2.3' on the meter) whern suddenly had 1.5' meaning I went into hard reverse etc.

My feeling has been that the problem is seaweeds etc passing under the boat, but it could be the meter itself. Is it common for depth meter to have this problem?
__________________

__________________
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2009, 07:44   #2
Registered User
 
mesquaukee's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Western Caribbean & ocassionaly inCanada
Boat: Mesqua Ukee, Buccaneer 40 (Salar 40)
Posts: 480
My depthsounders do the opposite.
When I have a few feet under the keel all of a sudden I get readings of much deeper water.
I finally figured out the signal was bouncing from the bottom to the hull back to the bottom then back to the transducer. 4 feet (1 foot under the keel) would become 8 feet, drives me nuts that is why I installed the 2nd sounder which does the same. I hate being told I am in deep water when I'am not.
__________________

__________________
mesquaukee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2009, 07:45   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 7,138
It might be weeds or bubbles but if it's a relatively new problem it might be the depth sounder. Years ago I had a Signet depth sounder that did this. Worked fine in deep water but under 10 feet it used to go crazy and show 2 feet or so. Sent it back a couple of times and they fixed it but the problem re-occurred, told me a condenser or something had gone in it. Hope yours isn't a Signet.
__________________
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/beneteau393/
Vasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2009, 00:25   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Boat: Catalina C36
Posts: 5
I have a new (one year old) Raymarine ST60 depth sounder that will suddenly go to 2-3 feet....especially in deep water. In shallower water, it usually gives accurate readers (based on chartplotter depths). I have tried re-calibrating the unit; it helped but did not solve the problem. Anyone else have this problem with the ST60 unit?

Sea-STAR
__________________
Starboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2009, 03:39   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almería, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,551
I've seen depth-sounders perform erratically before..
__________________
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SIGNET MK170.4B Depth Meter Wanted Capt Roy Classifieds Archive 0 07-01-2009 12:19
GPS vs Knot Meter Celestialsailor Marine Electronics 21 27-11-2008 18:08
SIGNET MK170.4B Depth Meter Wanted Capt Roy Classifieds Archive 0 13-06-2008 14:33
Amp meter flickering... avazquez Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 1 11-06-2007 09:07
Mulit meter seafox Marine Electronics 7 13-12-2006 02:14



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.