Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 4.10 average. Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 19:08   #376

Yep, navionics on the iphone/ipod/ipad does not need a net connection to work. Just a GPS signal. I think the same applies too most if not all the other idevice charting software, ie inavx.

Which means that yep you don't need a wireless connection, once charts are downloaded they are stored on the device. I've been navigating around SE queensland for a few months with generally no phone reception and using an iphone as my sole means of navigation.

I've got too admit that a single purpose sunlight readable/waterproof chartplotter would be kinda handy. But they cost from $600-$4000 and the charts for them are alot more expensive. whereas an ipod+gps costs hundreds. I got my iphone cause i needed a new phone, so cost for nav was cost of navionics australia which i got on special for i think $10.
Old 06-06-2010, 11:49   #377
cruiser

Boat: Pegasus 45 25 Tons, "Pegasus"
Thanks to James Baldwin, who sailed a Pearson Triton of 28 ft LOA around the world twice.
Jim has written many articles, delivered his share of boats, and cruised the nether regions of the world.

His views confirm what I and Capt Douglas have been saying.
GO SIMPLE, GO MODESTLY, GO YOUNG

INDY
Old 06-06-2010, 11:54   #378
cruiser

Engines....

The man on a micro-budget may want an engine... Jim Baldwin recommends outboards.. I recommend simple diesels.. because they are more fuel efficient and today, the cost of fuel dominates.