Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2018, 11:36   #1

Boat: Cape Dory 30
CPAP power question

We're looking for advice on powering a cpap overnight. Our 30 ft. Cape Dory has two batteries (house and engine) plus a small solar panel. Running the CPAP on the house alone is not working. We don't want to switch to the engine battery as we don't want to deplete it. Does anyone have advice? We lack electrical engineering degrees so simple is good. Thanks for any recommendations.
Myana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 11:54   #2

Boat: Wharram Tiki 46
Re: CPAP power question

I have been using a Resmed Cflex+ System One aboard for the last two years.
I bought a cigarette lighter adapter for it from Resmed, but I think I could have made it myself.

The main unit uses about 1ADC peak but the average usage is much lower than that.

It's the humidifier that uses a lot of power, but you don't need that on a boat.

So, if you were using a humidifier, turn it off, or disconnect it.

Otherwise your battery should be able to handle the load.
NahanniV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 12:30   #3
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF

You need a bigger House bank, and or better / more charge sources.

If you're powering it through an inverter, going to a DC 12V direct "car adapter" would make a significant difference.

So does disabling non-essential functions like a humidifier.

And of course some units are just less thirsty than others.
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 13:01   #4

Sumner had one. Might find it in his website:

Macgregor 26S Index
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2018, 16:31   #5

Boat: Pearson 323