Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2007, 20:51   #1

Boat: Maine Cat 30 - Jasmine
Cold weather gear

If all goes well on my survey this Friday, I will be making the 1200 mile trip from San Diego to Astoria, Oregon during January (in at least two legs, looking for weather windows, and with a pro delivery captain and crew). I have no off shore experience in the Pacific coast winter. I am hoping folks out there can make clothing suggestions for me. Oh, one other important fact, the boat is unheated, but the helm is completely enclosed in a dodger like enclosure.

The delivery skipper suggested silk long underwear as the first layer, followed by synthetic long underwear, a couple of layers of normal clothing, and then good weather gear">foul weather gear. He suggested really good insulated boots, socks that wick moisture, and really good gloves.

It is the boots, socks and gloves that are puzzling me, and I can't reach him to ask at the moment.

For the boots, where should I buy them - what type of store sells what I need? If I buy 5mm Neoprene insulated boots, am I buying the right thing?

For the socks - what kind of socks wick moisture?

For the gloves - again, where do I get them, and what should I look for to get the right thing?

I have read repeatedly that gloves, boots and a couple of good watch caps are the most important thing for comfort in a trip like this. But I can't find much specific advice.

I hope you can help. And I would be interested in ANY advice you can offer on the entire subject of cold weather clothing for the trip.

Thanks,

Kevin
kevinmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 21:20   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.