Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-11-2010, 19:18   #1
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
CMAP, Com Ports and Drop Down Menus

I am using CM93 on a laptop running XP. It is all installed and everything is working but I am unable to get the cmap to 'see' my gps. Every time I open the cmap it says that it cant find the com port.
When I go to configure the NMEA settings and try to indicate which com port to assign to the GPS there are no options in the drop down menu.
And secondly sometimes when I turn the laptop on with the GPS connected the cursor goes insane as though it has a life of its own.
I am not so concerned with the 2nd issue but the com port problem is driving me insane......
__________________

__________________
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2010, 09:07   #2
Registered User
 
skipgundlach's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Currently on the boat, somewhere on the ocean, living the dream
Boat: Morgan 461 S/Y Flying Pig
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via Skype™ to skipgundlach
Can you describe the steps you take, in detail?

Is the GPS serial or USB adapter? Have you looked in the device manager to see which port it is assigned to (and, do you have a driver for that adapter)?

I don't have your nav program so I can't duplicate/see what you're doing, but I've had some issues I've resolved with MaxSea and Cap'n on the same subject, which might be related to your problem...

L8R

Skip
__________________

__________________
Morgan 461 #2 SV Flying Pig, KI4MPC
See our galleries at www.justpickone.org/skip/gallery!
Follow us at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TheFlyingPigLog
skipgundlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2010, 13:40   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
Hi. Let me try and describe as best as I can....

The GPS plugs into a serial port. I have looked in the device manager and as far as I can figure out it is assigned to comport 3. When I start cmap it says that it cant find comport 3. In the configure screen of the cmap it is possible to open a drop down menu that should list all of your com ports but nothing is in the drop down menus. I had it running with no problem on an earlier computer that was running wondows 2000.
__________________
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2010, 13:57   #4
Registered User
 
skipgundlach's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Currently on the boat, somewhere on the ocean, living the dream
Boat: Morgan 461 S/Y Flying Pig
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via Skype™ to skipgundlach
You might try reassigning that port to #1, the usual default. Likely, you'll have to make it 4800, n,8,1 if it's not already configured that way.

How many other serial devices do you have running/might be upset at that being #1?

L8R

Skip
__________________
Morgan 461 #2 SV Flying Pig, KI4MPC
See our galleries at www.justpickone.org/skip/gallery!
Follow us at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TheFlyingPigLog
skipgundlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2010, 14:15   #5
Registered User
 
skipgundlach's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Currently on the boat, somewhere on the ocean, living the dream
Boat: Morgan 461 S/Y Flying Pig
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via Skype™ to skipgundlach
You might try reassigning that port to #1, the usual default. Likely, you'll have to make it 4800, n,8,1 if it's not already configured that way.

How many other serial devices do you have running/might be upset at that being #1?

L8R

Skip
__________________
Morgan 461 #2 SV Flying Pig, KI4MPC
See our galleries at www.justpickone.org/skip/gallery!
Follow us at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TheFlyingPigLog
skipgundlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2010, 14:28   #6
Registered User
 
marc2012's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: abbeville la
Boat: seawind II Patience
Posts: 542
I am using opencpn & have a choice for shared serial.Must ativate then gps after program loaded,serial port thinks it is a mouse.marc
__________________
marc2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2010, 16:08   #7
Registered User
 
skipgundlach's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Currently on the boat, somewhere on the ocean, living the dream
Boat: Morgan 461 S/Y Flying Pig
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via Skype™ to skipgundlach
I'm a bit out of my depth here, never having done shared com ports. However, it sounds from what you say that you start the GPS (presumed separate switch for that device?) AFTER OCPN loads?

No program I've used does that - they all look, on start, for a GPS (presumed already on).

In any event, try naming that port com 1, the usual default, and activating the GPS before loading the program. Can't hurt it, but it may find it that way on start...

L8R

Skip
__________________
Morgan 461 #2 SV Flying Pig, KI4MPC
See our galleries at www.justpickone.org/skip/gallery!
Follow us at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TheFlyingPigLog
skipgundlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2010, 16:43   #8
Marine Service Provider
 
wadda's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sydney
Boat: Allied Mistress 39'
Posts: 89
Get Navigatrix...http-//navigatrix.net...problem solved.

XP thinks your GPS is a mouse.

Disable the ps2 mouse that appears in the device manager after you plug in you GPS...it'll be a challenge.

Then you can find you GPS on whatever port you plugged it in....or get Navigatrix
__________________

__________________
wadda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: CMAP NT+ Charts available, FL to ME elangley Classifieds Archive 0 09-06-2010 07:23
cmap - print a screen problem Tigs'nWalter Navigation 3 20-04-2009 06:09
NMEA error in CMAP frits40 Marine Electronics 12 26-02-2009 14:50
cmap usb reader problem margan Marine Electronics 5 02-12-2007 15:37
Cmap NT+ no more? GlendaJay Marine Electronics 25 27-11-2006 02:54



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:03.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.