Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2010, 07:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Boat: Caliber 47 - Makai
Posts: 21
Chris Parker Weather - Times and Frequencies ?

Hello,
I'm in the Bahamas and trying to get a hold of Chris Parker's weather forecast. I've been looking for the time and frequencies of his broadcasts, without much success. Can anybody help me?
Thank you very much!
Celine
__________________

__________________
heraulc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2010, 07:28   #2
Registered User
 
knotnow's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 225
Try

SUMMER: Effective during US Daylight Saving Time (March-October):
4045 USB 6:30am AST / EDT, 1030 UTC
8137 USB 7:00am AST / EDT, 1100 UTC
4045 USB 8:00am AST / EDT, 1200 UTC
8104 USB 8:30am AST / EDT, 1230 UTC
12350 USB 9:15am AST / EDT, 1315 UTC
6221 USB 9:30am AST / EDT, 1330 UTC

WINTER: Effective during US Standard Time (November into March):
8137 USB 7:00am AST / 6:00am EST, 1100 UTC
4045 USB 7:30am AST / 6:30am EST, 1130 UTC
8104 USB 8:30am AST / 7:30am EST, 1230 UTC
12350 USB 9:30am AST / 8:30am EST, 1330 UTC
6221 USB 10am AST / 9am EST, 1400 UTC
__________________

__________________
PATRIOTISM is supporting your country all the time AND your Government when it deserves it.

Mark Twain
knotnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2010, 07:56   #3
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus
 
Hud3's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia
Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
Posts: 8,929
Images: 49
Chris recently sent out an email announcement that he's striking off on his own--leaving the employ of the Caribbean Weather Center. Here's his note...


Quote:
Wx Update - Important information from Chris Parker

After 7 years, I am leaving the employment of The Caribbean Weather Center LTD, and starting a new company (Marine Weather Center) providing weather forecasting & routing advice, via SSB Voice Nets, email, phone, and fax. Mary and I have discussed this for some time, and I have fulfilled all my contractual obligations with The Caribbean Weather Center.

If you have paid for service through The Caribbean Weather Center, I will provide weather services to you (similar to services you've been receiving) at no additional charge for the duration of your paid period. No action on your part is required.

I'll roll-out enhancements (mostly to websites & administrative functions) gradually over the next week-or-two.

One change I'm implementing immediately is a new, secure website (www.mwxc.com). The new mwxc.com website has some new content of general interest, and allows NEW clients to order weather services securely online. I will communicate further enhancements to the website & other services as they are ready. Going forward, I hope to be an even-more-valuable part of your Cruising life for a very long time.

Thank you for your support!...Chris.
--
Chris Parker
Weather Forecasting & Vessel Routing
Weather & Communications - Hardware, Software, Sales, Consulting, Books, Seminars
www.mwxc.com
Marine Weather & Communications LLC (and dba Marine Weather Center)
5130 Medulla Rd
Lakeland FL 33811
ph 863-248-2702
fax 863-248-4666
__________________
Hud
Hud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2010, 08:12   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Boat: Caliber 47 - Makai
Posts: 21
Thank you for your replies.
Has Chris already stopped emitting? I will try it out tomorrow morning to see if it is the case.
Does anybody know if Chris will provide a similar service to the broadcasts he used to do, or will he only be doing custom weather information?
I assume his website will be up and running shortly.

Celine
__________________
heraulc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2010, 08:21   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Boat: Caliber 47 - Makai
Posts: 21
5/6 nets per day

The information that notknow provided is the one I just found on Chris Parker's new website. It looks like he will still be conduction 5/6 Nets per day.
Thanks again
Celine
__________________
heraulc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2010, 09:35   #6
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
The ellusive Mr Parker was eard by moi at 11:00 UTC on 8104 other times said 12:00 on 8137 and 13:30 at 12350.

Of the times I was able to tune in he seemed to be 15 minutes late.


Herb is 15 minutes EARLY. Not at 20:00 UTC but registrations from 19:30 and then he comes on at 19:40 or 19:45.

I wish they could all get their acts together.

I notice Chis' new website as listed by Hud, the freqs and times are complicated and difficult to understand at 30 degrees at 30 knots while holding a pen and jabbing buttons on the HF receiver.

And if he wants to be international whats with the AST and EDT? What land did they spring from? The USA? So I have to KNOW the +- conversion to American time when I am nowhere near the USA and I have to decide what summer and winter means in an area that is upside down.

He needs a quick re-write by someone used to speaking to kindy kids....

Mark
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2010, 16:47   #7
Registered User
 
skipgundlach's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Currently on the boat, somewhere on the ocean, living the dream
Boat: Morgan 461 S/Y Flying Pig
Posts: 1,388
Send a message via Skype™ to skipgundlach
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkJ View Post
The ellusive Mr Parker was eard by moi at 11:00 UTC on 8104 other times said 12:00 on 8137 and 13:30 at 12350.

Of the times I was able to tune in he seemed to be 15 minutes late.

(clip)

Mark
Chris is nearly always timely on his 6AM ET (or 6:30 in the summer) net. The problem is that sometimes there are so many customers getting specific area advice that it runs long in a time slot. By the end, if you can hear him at the given frequency, he's usually caught up on the later slots.

If you have good internet wherever you are, you can both listen and watch on his webcast, as well as text a request, which requests are covered at the end of each session.

As propagation seems to be really awful at the moment, I can sometimes hear him, and others not, and very rarely can I be heard by him - so I text a question, he responds, and if I'm hearing him, I say good copy in text. There's a slight delay from actual to his or your seeing the screen, so I hit the send button before he's finished.

The cool thing about his webcast is that you get to see the screens he's using as he either covers the general stuff, or a specific question...

L8R

Skip
__________________

__________________
Morgan 461 #2 SV Flying Pig, KI4MPC
See our galleries at www.justpickone.org/skip/gallery!
Follow us at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TheFlyingPigLog
skipgundlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
Chris Parker

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parker Cooker feelsgood Provisioning: Food & Drink 2 13-04-2010 12:37
Chris Parker's SW North Atlantic Weather Nets Hud3 Atlantic & the Caribbean 1 15-03-2010 09:03
Dragon Lady, Ruff Times and High Times skipgundlach General Sailing Forum 1 30-09-2008 10:13
January 1 – It was the best of times, it was the worst of times… skipgundlach General Sailing Forum 1 01-01-2008 06:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.