Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 11-01-2009, 17:33   #1

BVI Sailing Lessons and Cheap Flights from the US - Any Reccomendations ?

I'm new to sailing and want to take monohull liveaboard lessons in the BVI for 8-10 days then bring the family down and charter a bareboat for a week.
Sunsail seems to have a good combined offer training and charter around $5400 using one of their older 39-44' classics from Tortola, is this a good price, any ideas.

P.S. airfare to get there from the US is quiet expensive, all the flights from my area (New Mexico) get in late to St Thomas so I would miss the last ferry to Tortola and have to overnight, hotels on St Thomas seem to run $200/night min. I guess there is always San Juan PR but the puddle jumpers from there seem to cost more than the international leg.
Is there a best way to go?

-just call up the internet, they know everything-

Old 11-01-2009, 19:06   #2

Boat: 34 Sabre Tempest
Hi mjcarey.....on the surface the boat seems like decent deal...but I see your travel challenge.

Is this one trip? You for 10 days with lessons, then you and the family for 7 more?

$5400 for a 17 days... lessons and then bareboat charter...seems reasonable to me.

That's $317 a day....for boat and instructor? Then they let you have it on your own for a week? Perhaps they hope to upsell you on a different boat with the family?

What time of year? How old is the boat..? Classic??
Are you new to boating or just new to sailing ?
That's a big boat and a lot of learning to do in even in 8-10 days

What kind of air rates are you getting $500 ? $1,000? have you searched the sites like orbit etc? I usually fly Continental, I plugged in Albuquerque to St Thomas...came up with NM to Houston to Newark to St Thomas for $548...you'd have to layover in Newark for a night, (hotel ) but you'd get there in time to catch the ferry. The Newark to St Thomas Flight alone usually goes for $460 or more.