Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-06-2006, 13:02   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Autohelm 6000, Control Unit

Im am keen to locate a control unit for my Autohelm 6000.

Anybody got any ideas?

Brendan
__________________

__________________
BrendanChandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2006, 13:06   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 7,135
Brendan

Have you tried Raymarine?
__________________

__________________
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/beneteau393/
Vasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2006, 13:40   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Macatawa Michigan
Boat: Amanda Faye 61' Custom Irwin aftcockpit ketch
Posts: 1,414
Images: 106
I just replaced my Autohelm 6000 rotary drive unit and plan to listit on ebay.
__________________
Gunner
irwinsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2006, 16:23   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Hi Vasco,

I do not know what a 'rotary drive unit' is. The bit I need is the control unit where you press buttons to set the unit, with Auto/Standby, +- 10, +-1 etc.

Is this what you mean?

I understand that the critical fact is whether or not the unit used Seatalk and I am told that is know frokm the number of wires it connects to.

Any further info welcome please. If it is the right unit, I would be pleased to buy it.

Brendan
__________________
BrendanChandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2006, 16:25   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Autohelm 6000, Control Unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasco
Have you tried Raymarine?
Hi Vasco,

I have not tried Raymarine, I am told by their agents that parts are no longer available but perhaps that is not correct.

Do you have any info?

Brendan
__________________
BrendanChandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2006, 18:13   #6
Registered User
 
Jentine's Avatar

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cruising on the hook
Boat: Beneteau 393, "Blackthorn"
Posts: 744
Images: 5
Do you just not have a control head or is yours in need of repair?
__________________
Jim

We are what we repeatedly do.
Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit."
--Aristotle
Jentine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2006, 18:18   #7
Registered User
 
Jentine's Avatar

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cruising on the hook
Boat: Beneteau 393, "Blackthorn"
Posts: 744
Images: 5
There is an Autohelm 6000 remote control on Ebay. If you have a non-functional head, you could use the remote as a substitute.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Autoh...spagenameZWDVW
__________________
Jim

We are what we repeatedly do.
Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit."
--Aristotle
Jentine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2006, 22:21   #8
Senior Cruiser

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,453
Jentine - the remote only works with the current models. I believe Brenden is looking for the old Autohelm 6000 control head, rather than the ST6001 control head. The Autohelm 6000 system is about 20 years old.

I have two Autohelm 6000 control heads, an Autohelm 6000 junction head (for attachment to the computer/power supply, the Autohelm 6000 computer/power supply, and the Autohelm 6000 navigation interface.

Please contract me off the boards if you would be interested in them.
__________________
S/V Elusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2006, 13:49   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jentine
Do you just not have a control head or is yours in need of repair?
Hi Jim,

The head needs repair but it is so badly damaged as to be a write off. The back of the case is damaged, the chip has had it's cover broken and there has been a history of moisture causing it to malfunction.
__________________
BrendanChandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2006, 13:55   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Availability on EBay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jentine
There is an Autohelm 6000 remote control on Ebay. If you have a non-functional head, you could use the remote as a substitute.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Autoh...spagenameZWDVW
Hi again Jim,
I have been in touch with this person. I understand that there is a 3 wire unit and a 4 wire unit. The 3 wire unit uses Seatalk which my system does not use, so I need the 4 wire head. I have not been able to persuade him to look and tell me.

Thank for you interest.

Brendan
__________________

__________________
BrendanChandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autohelm

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can an autohelm linear drive unit be user cleaned? Raven Marine Electronics 24 25-06-2008 06:18
Autohelm 5000 Quincofish Marine Electronics 2 16-04-2003 22:59



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.