Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 28-06-2016, 19:39   #1

Boat: CRI E20, Hunter 27
Another Newbie question

I am new to Coastal Cruising, All of my sailing experience has been on a 17 Oday on inland lakes. I wanted to move into a larger boat and do some coastal cruising and eventually and even larger boat and sail the eastern seaboard.
This past weekend I finally splashed a 20 Ensenada that I have been restoring the past 3 yrs, and this is the boat that Ill begin my coastal experience on. I live in NH and want to sail the Maine coast this summer. #1 problem is that I dont know enough about coastal cruising to even ask an intelligent question, so please bear with me. We joined the Maine Island Trail Association, as they offer a wealth of information on the Maine coast. However we are going to have to put in at some marina or town dock every other day to restock and at least to empty the Porta Potty. I have heard that some marinas and towns offer transient moorings or slips to those traveling thru. Question is? . How do I find out where these marinas are and how to contact them to see if space is available? I installed a VHF radio but, Im as green as can be on radio usage. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 28-06-2016, 19:44   #2

Boat: OPB = Crewing in 2017
Re: Another Newbie question

Quote:
Originally Posted by finefurn View Post
I am new to Coastal Cruising, All of my sailing experience has been on a 17 Oday on inland lakes. I wanted to move into a larger boat and do some coastal cruising and eventually and even larger boat and sail the eastern seaboard.