Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 04-04-2007, 22:48   #1

23' for $3500?

As I mentioned elsewhere, I'm completely new to this hobby and looking to get my foot in the door.

Well, I've been browsing various sites, including, to get an idea what the cost would be of getting a boat. It seems that it will cost me nearly $2000 to purchase a decent sailing dinghy. A little more than I'd hoped. I decided to take a look at used boats for sale in my area and I came across this 23' sailboat. $3500? Not much more than a dinghy... I'm assuming it must be in need of work. I think I'm going to give the owner a call and find out a little more about it, maybe stop by and have a look for myself. From what you see, what do you think? Could it turn out to be a good ship to learn off of or would I be getting in over my head? I'm trying to gauge just how much this boat would cost to get in good condition.

Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 23:33   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Modified Choate 40
Try here trailerable Classified Ads

They speciallize in the smaller boats.................._/)

delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 02:08   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Steel Roberts Offshore 44
Some casual comments...

1) If you really have little knowledge of fibreglass yachts it is wise to get a second opinion from someone with at least good common sense and preferably knowledge of small fibreglass yachts. A mate who is into cars could be useful. Wives, girlfriends or mothers are good as a last resort.

The hull is described as balsa cored. Look to see if the fittings have been screwed into the skin so that water can seep into the core. Other forum members are better able than me to suggest how to determine if there has been any water ingress. Ask if it has been stored under cover.

See if you can get a history for the boat.