Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-11-2007, 19:28   #1

Boat: S2 35C
Where should we go ??

Hello everyone, a noob here looking to hear some opinions from the old salts.

My girlfriend and I are looking to do some coastal cruising for a few months-- Leaving from Clear Lake, TX. Original plan was to cruise along the mexican coast-- around the yucatan, central america, colombia, venezuela, etc. Then maybe put the boat on the hard somewhere down there (port of spain?) --fly back to atlanta, then return the next year to island hop up to florida, then up the coast to the georgia shore (we live in GA at the moment)

Now I am thinking twice about this, as people keep telling me the atlantic side of mexico is lousy cruising.

What are your thoughts on this? any other completely different route suggestions ?? the only thing that is 100 % is that we will be sailing from Clear Lake (galveston)-- it doesn't matter where we end up !!

We have about 4 months to do this trip, and will be leaving the 2nd or 3rd of Jan. How far would it be possible (or realistic) to make it in the 4 months ??

Thanks for all of your info. I have been searching this site and reading tons--- there is so much great info here !!
tedwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2007, 06:40   #2

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Ted, Click on the link on my signature.

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2007, 10:36   #3
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Cruisers Forum member Pura Vida is an active sailor in that part of the world, and he can surely offer you lots of valuable information. If he doesn't reply to this thread directly, why don't you PM him?