Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-08-2009, 15:52   #1

Boat: 33ft sloop
St. Maarten > Europe

I found a very interesting vessel located at St Maarten. We are now in the first stage of getting information regarding this boat (45' Nicholson). The main obstacle is the long haul to Europe.
I have no experience with the weather and weather conditions in the W.I. but would like to profit from the advise of colleague-sailors who sail those waters.
What would be the best time to plan such an expedition? I have only North Atlantic pilots.
According experience, I sail on a regular basis from UK to South of France / Med area, passing gulf of Biscaya, Portugal and Spain.
MacG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2009, 16:07   #2
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacG View Post
(45' Nicholson) I sail on a regular basis from UK to South of France / Med area, passing gulf of Biscaya, Portugal and Spain.
Can a Nicholson 45 go up wind? Is it any good in light wind?
If so have a look at laying a course direct for Madera and Gibralter. That takes you south of the mid atlantic high.

If its UK you prolly want to go via Azores. That goes north of the high

April May June best months.

Mark

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2009, 16:26   #3

The Nicholson 45 is one of the last racing designs of Charles Nicholson, Camper & Nicholson. She is an early '70 s cold moulded sloop, with I believe very good upwind capacities.
I am not going to the UK but to France, so Madeira - Gibraltar will have my preference.

Thanks Mark
Old 23-08-2009, 17:30   #4
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.