Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2015, 09:31   #1

St. Maarten - Antigua - Nevis - St. Maarten

Hi,

I am a newbie to this site so forgive me if I am in the wrong section etc. ... I can use some help.

2 mates and I are planning to spend two weeks in April (1-15, 2016) sailing the northern Leewards.

We pick up and return the boat (Moorings) in St. Maarten.

Can you suggest the "easiest" route (i.e.: clockwise or counter clockwise); the stops in between and the sights and prospective anchorages along the way?

Although we are an experienced crew, our longest sail (in rough water) has been St. Lucia to Bequia. I'm getting a bit nervous that hitting Antigua might be too ambitious?

Many thanks

Jackfish
jackfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:29   #2
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
Re: St. Maarten - Antigua - Nevis - St. Maarten

I don't think you have any choice but to go anti-clockwise if you want to visit Antigua. The winds in April vary from E to SSE, so it's a beat the whole way against wind, waves and current. It would take pretty much a full day/night to get there.

If you go anti-clockwise, the beating is SXM to St Barths (short hop), then Nevis to Antigua (9-10 hours to Jolly Harbour). The passages between Saba, Stacia St Kits and Nevis are short open-water legs with motor-sailing in the lee of the islands.

Here's a suggested itinerary:

Ile Forchue - lunch stop, snorkeling, hiking
St Barths - French, restaurants, shopping for the ladies. Bring a fat wallet
Saba - rolly moorings; snorkeling and hiking are good there
Stacia - rolly anchorage; hiking, site seeing
St Kitts - Brimstone Hill is the best preserved fort in the Caribbean