Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2010, 15:54   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Snake River Power Lines

Does anyone know the height of the power lines at the snake river bridge in Islamorada fl? . Thanks, Stacy
__________________

__________________
S/V Katabatik
Leopard 46
San Francisco, CA
stacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2010, 16:46   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CLOD in OH
Posts: 257
Checked our paper charts and could not find a overhead power line at snake creek or whale harbour. There is a buried cable crossing listed at both locations. Whale harbour has a fixed bridge 12 ft so snake creek with a bascule bridge is for sure the SV route.
__________________

__________________
Paydirt
Mark Zarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2010, 18:47   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Snake River Power Lines

Thank you Mark! We will definately ck with the Coast Guard about the status of those lines before we enter Snake Creek! Stacy.
__________________
S/V Katabatik
Leopard 46
San Francisco, CA
stacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2010, 19:22   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
Snake Creek does have an overhead wire. I have a 68 ft mast and did not touch it. We called the Coast Guard and they did not know the height. Neither did the bridge operator. The power and phone companies would be a good thing to try if you have the time to navigate their bureaucracies. If you're close to 68 ft you should have someone on the bridge (like the operator) eyeball your clearance as you approach the wire.
__________________
JayH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2010, 19:57   #5
CF Adviser
 
Intentional Drifter's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pac NW
Boat: Boatless, for now, Cat enthusiast
Posts: 1,283
There is also a TowBoat dock/office literally right next to it. I bet they know. Their phone is 305-852-6451.

By the way, for excellent access to this sort of stuff, try out ActiveCaptain - The Interactive Cruising Guidebook - Marina Reviews, Fuel Prices, Anchorages

All sorts of excellent info, as well as NOAA charts with searchable locations. Great resource.

ID
__________________
Intentional Drifter

Observations are gold; hypotheses, silver; and conclusions, bronze.

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.--Ben Franklin

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts.--Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Intentional Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 08:38   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
JayH and Intentional Drifter, thanks for the info. we are members of Active Captain but didn't think to look for a towboat office. We called them and they thought the height was 72ft but they will recheck and let me know. When I have more info I will post it. We have a 69' mast and If the lines are power lines and are only 72' that is cutting it too close in case of arching as far as I'm concerned.
__________________
S/V Katabatik
Leopard 46
San Francisco, CA
stacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 09:32   #7
Registered User
 
Dave852's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tavernier, Fl
Boat: Outremer 50
Posts: 657
Send a message via Skype™ to Dave852
Stacy,

I go through with a 71' mast at any tide. No one will tell you the exact height in our litigious world. You will pass over a 4 1/2' spot (dead low tide) just before entering the markers.

Dave
__________________
Dave852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 09:35   #8
Registered User
 
Dave852's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tavernier, Fl
Boat: Outremer 50
Posts: 657
Send a message via Skype™ to Dave852
PS. No arching as the wires close to your mast will be phone/cable. The power wires are way up there.
__________________
Dave852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 12:27   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Dave852, thanks for the info. If your St Francis 50 can make it under then i feel confident our Leopard 46 can make it.
__________________
S/V Katabatik
Leopard 46
San Francisco, CA
stacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 15:07   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,150
I wonder if someone getting under the wire with a laser range finder would work?
__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2010, 09:15   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
snake creek overhead lines

Hello All, we contacted the Florida Keys Electric coop and Tj Patterson from member services wrote back and said that at MWL to the power lines at Snake Creek is 87 feet but to the lowest non- power line is 75 feet. This varies depending on tides, sag in line, thermal variances etc. These heights are not a guarantee and THE FKEC can not be held liable. TJ Patterson also send us the heights for Card Sound which is 88feet for lowest line at MWL and channel 5 which is 104 feet for electic line and 96 feet for lowest non-power at MWL. Hope that helps, thanks for all the input. Stacy
__________________
S/V Katabatik
Leopard 46
San Francisco, CA
stacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2012, 14:31   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Re: Snake River Power Lines

Has anyone sailed up the snake river in Washington? Any trouble with mast height?
__________________
Slow Dancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 12:36   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 69
Re: snake creek overhead lines

Stacy did you end up crossing under the lines? My wife and 4 of my daughters and I are sailing a leopard 44 from Miami down thru the keys in late November. Given the mast height of the 44, the only place to cross is snake creek or key west. Was curious as to your experience with anchorage on ocean side vs bay side.

We plan to anchor and not stay in marinas.
__________________
Sail power sail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 13:31   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Re: Snake River Power Lines

Yes we did cross under the lines at Snake Creek inlet without difficulty but this was back in 2010. We stayed at the Plantation Yacht Harbor for about 2 months and had a great time. We then left and anchored at Rodriquez Key overnight before heading to the Berry islands and the Abacos. Enjoy your trip.
__________________
S/V Katabatik
Leopard 46
San Francisco, CA
stacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 13:49   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 69
Re: Snake River Power Lines

Thanks. I didn't notice the age of the post. Thanks for getting back to me.
__________________

__________________
Sail power sail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snake thru Columbia to Seattle Lostmt General Sailing Forum 22 12-10-2014 19:58
Elixer or Snake Oil? Jentine Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 27-04-2009 03:48
Power lines and mast? Surf City Navigation 16 07-04-2009 18:50
Snake River Plantation Key shawnbush12 Atlantic & the Caribbean 5 12-08-2008 02:46
How much electric power is needed to power a 40 - 45' cat at 5 knots? KHK007 Multihull Sailboats 40 18-03-2008 07:16



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.