Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 02-05-2018, 08:32   #1

North from the Bahamas

Morning folks,

I've seen a lot of threads about people heading to the Bahamas lately, but I'm curious about the opposite path. I bought a Pearson 35 in Marsh Harbour in February, and I'd like to take her up to the Chesapeake in June. I'm fairly new to the hobby, so I'm not ready to do any overnight passages quite yet.

Questions I've got:

We'll be heading to Florida from Memory Rock/West End. What's generally the best place to aim for on the Florida coast to make an easy entrance to a decent anchorage? I've heard St. Lucie can be challenging the first time.

Heading north, I'd like to balance speed with safety. Assuming good weather, how easy is it to go outside the ICW during the day, up the coast, and duck back inside for overnight anchoring? My mast is only 50', but I'd still like to avoid the bridges in Florida as much as possible.

What's currently considered the best guide for the passage? I've seen quite a few ICW guides on Amazon, but a lot of them seem a bit dated.

theglobalguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 08:59   #2

Re: North from the Bahamas

There have to be a thousand different threads on here debating the inside/outside question for the ICW, especially from VA to FL... You might start by reading them becasue you'll just get the same arguments here...again.

Can you explain why you want to avoid bridges in Florida specifically, and not other places?

For your initial crossing, if you wait for a good weather window, then the inlet you select won't be critical. ANY inlet has the potential to be nasty in bad weather. Have a couple options, with charts and info for each. Your weather choice will be for winds from the south or southeast, if it was me, I'd try to get as far north as I could with the GS ride as I could.

billknny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 09:08   #3