Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 01-09-2015, 09:27   #1

Newbie wondering about how long things can take

Hello folks.

Im pretty new to the forum and will in time have found my feet so to speak.
Im based in Cape Town and I have made a mental plan to get myself sailing. Im recovering from a torn bicep and shoulder operation, and as soon as the surgeon gives me the all clear to start rehab. I will be signing up and starting to do a bunch of sailing courses to get myself proficient and up to speed at sea.

I work as a comedian/actor/writer so I have sort of decided that I am able to make money whilst sailing. Sort of. But I need to get a few questions answered that perhaps you can assist me with.

Money will dictate in good time what kind of boat I will end up with. It could be a fairly small monohull or if there is some luck coming my way, perhaps on a multihull (to have the most comfortable livea-board experience)

I would like to ask those of you that have undertaken South Africa to European water journeys before on how you went about it. I am going to assume for most of you it was via the Caribbean and then onwards towards the med or in my case the UK eventually.

Could anyone give me an idea of when the ideal times to leave Cape Town would be in order to sail via the Caribbean for the best weather. I can hardly call myself a sailor till Ive fouled my pants in some heavy sea...and just from watching from our beaches...we certainly aren't messing about down at the Cape of Good Hope.

As a rule of thumb. How long would you estimate it would take to have a leisurely sail from Cape Town to the med/europe.

I really appreciate any info you could pass on..

thanks again
Martin

Old 02-09-2015, 23:40   #2

Re: Newbie wondering about how long things can take

A little bump here.

Can anyone give me an indication of how long a trip from Cape Town to The UK might take? thanks kindly

Old 03-09-2015, 00:15   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellpants View Post