Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-02-2010, 17:52   #1

Boat: Hunter 39
New to the Bahamas

We are planning a trip to the Exumas in March. We are great Lakes sailers, I have 9 years experience and my wife is a good navigator but novice sailer, we also have a 9 year old and 11 year old.

We have read the guides, have the gear, have electronic and paper charts and are ready to go.

Some people are cautioning us saying it is too dangerous to sail with only one experience sailer in the Bahamas. We pick up our boat in Nassau and return it there (friends are sailing to and from Florida for us as we don't have the time). We plan to go south through the Exumas and back to Nassau in two weeks.

Are we crazy, is the Bahamas that dangerous?

Thanks.
39_n_holding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2010, 18:13   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Disclaimer. Only you can know your level of knowledge and experience and are responsible to decide if you can safely manage any voyage.

That being said, to answer your question, absolutely not. If you have good, basic navigation skills and pay attention the Bahamas are no more dangerous a place to sail that most places. Not to make light of potential dangers. There are some risks as there would be sailing anywhere; lots of reefs, strong currents in spots, especially around the edge of the banks, and the region in general has few navigation lights or buoys, but thousands of boaters safely sail there every year.

The good side is that these days you have lots of very good guides, weather reports, nav books and GPS to help out. Of course don't live by GPS alone but it does make it easier.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2010, 18:14   #3

Boat: Outremer 50
Send a message via Skype™ to Dave852