Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-04-2019, 09:10   #1

Boat: Pearson 34-II
Mullet Key anchorage

Anyone anchored off the south side of Mullet Key/Tampa Bay? Does it have the same problems as Egmont Key with the tides/currents? Thanks, Rognvald
Old 22-04-2019, 14:53   #2

Boat: Gemini 105Mc
Re: Mullet Key anchorage

I must say, I have been boating in this area for 23 years......... I had to google where Mullet Key is.........

Second, why the heck do you want to anchor there? There is a much more protected anchorage at Bimini Bay (Anna Maria Island) on the south side. You can also go into Pass-a-grille and anchor at numerous places inside, including Gulfport.

From Google maps..... Mullet key looks protected from most things northerly.

The rest, well, it looks like you take your chances.
Davy J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2019, 15:34   #3

Hi, Davy,
We're not looking to set up camp but rather have a relatively secure anchorage for a night for an early morning departure to the Dry Tortugas. I also know this area very well but have never dropped the hook off Mullet and wonder if it suffers from the same tide/current/wind issues as Egmont Key. The other anchorages you suggested are too far from the shipping channel for our purposes. Hopefully, we can check it out soon before our trip unless others have some feedback. Thanks for the reply . . . Rognvald
Old 22-04-2019, 16:05   #4

Just my opinion, because I haven't done it. But, it would look like you would be better off at Egmont. For example, if you found that you are getting uncomfortable easterlies you could round the island and get protection on the west side and vice versa. The south side of Fort Desoto only provides protection from the north.