Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 05:31   #1

Key Largo to the Exhumas

GOOD MORNING
'We are headed for The Exhumas from Key Largo the first of January.
I am still studying up on our route so I probably have some of the details wrong.
Plans so far are to head to either Bimini for sign in or to stop in the ROCKS and go on to either Andros or the Exhuma Chain for sign in .
We like to do day trips and stay off the beaten path . The jump from Bimini thru the North Channel and then to either Chub key or ??? looks to be an overnighter. We will have about two months and then leave the boat in Marsh Harbor.Any advice on a route that would take us from Key Largo then either down Andros then up the Exhuma Chain would be Greatly appreciated. We are also interested in talking with anyone else that might be headed that way in January.
Fair Winds
TOM
Alterboy 65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 12:14   #2

Boat: Solaris Sunstar 36' catamaran
Re: Key Largo to the Exhumas

Tom -
First thing you need to do is acquire a copy of Steve Pavilidis' Exuma Cruising Guide. It will be a great help in planning your trip. He has also written Guides covering most of the rest of the Bahamas, one of which, the Near Bahamas I think it's called, covers the Bimini area.
Also heavily recommended are the Explorer Chart Kits. Between Pavilidis' guides and the Explorer charts, you'll be good to go.
If you want to go to Marsh Harbor, pick up a copy of Steve Dodge's Abaco guide.
Have a great time!
Oh yeah, no "h" in Exuma.
Old 06-10-2013, 14:04   #3

Hi Mike , it took me five years to learn how to spell deisel so please be patient .