Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2010, 02:20   #1

Boat: dufour 32 Arpege
Send a message via Skype™ to sailing123
ICW Entry from New York

Hi i'm new on the forum and am looking for advice and tips etc.I'm an experienced professional sailor from NZ and have recently purchased a small sailing boat to sail in the Rhode Island area before making my way down the ICW.I'll be cruising from Mid august to Mid Sept in the Rhode Isl area so any 'MUSTS' would be appreciated , cruising guides, anchorages etc as well as a cheap rowing dinghy for sale in the North Kingston area.Going SouthWhat is the most interesting/ effective/ easy way to enter the ICW system from the NY end. Do you have cruising guides andd sailing directions etc that you recommend.I will be sailing til the end of October and expect to find a suitasble inexpensive mooring or slip toward the florida end to leave my boat til next year, any offers or ideas (32ft sail boat) Any recomendations suggestions ideas most welcome cheers keith
sailing123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 02:30   #2

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Mile 0 of the Atlantic ICW starts at Norfolk VA. Most folks enter it here. Go out from NY to the ocean and down to Cape May NJ, enter Delaware Bay through the Cape May Canal (no locks) go up the Bay and through the C&D Canal (no locks) to the Chesapeake Bay, down the Chesapeake Bay to Norfolk.

The cheapest place to leave the boat in FL would be at a dock in someone's backyard. Look in local papers in FL. Bottom will need to be cleaned regularly if the boat is left in the water.
Old 07-06-2010, 05:10   #3

Boat: 34 Sabre Tempest
Hi Keith,