Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2010, 05:38   #16

Boat: Ohlson 38
I'm rather new to sailing so this may seem a silly question, but what would an expensive guide book offer that Active Captain doesn't offer for free and in a more user friendly format?
virginia boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 06:10   #17

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginia boy View Post
I'm rather new to sailing so this may seem a silly question, but what would an expensive guide book offer that Active Captain doesn't offer for free and in a more user friendly format?

There are many substantial differences but I'll just mention one. Directions and chartlets for out of the way anchorages. And, after you anchor, tons of information on what you'll find ashore, trails etc. and all sorts of info on the flora and fauna. In the Pavlidis' guides these are anchorages he's been to and surveyed personally. As for "user friendly", pick up one of his guides and start reading. Many cruisers use his guides to go exploring in the dinghy, try that with your laptop.
Old 03-10-2010, 06:13   #18

Boat: Mahe, 36' "Oceanview"