Originally Posted by denverd0n
address is not a requirement. Technically, you must immediately register the boat in Florida
if you are coming from a state where it was not registered before (only CG documentation). On the other hand, I have never heard of anyone getting fined the day after they arrived, for not having a registration
. Register it within a reasonable amount of time (most certainly less than 90 days) and you will be fine.
Also, be aware that registration fees
in Florida are pretty reasonable. Unless you have a mega-yacht it will certainly be less than $200 per year. Possibly quite a bit less. If the boat is more than 30 years old you can get an "antique" registration that is really quite cheap
All the official information is here: Official Website Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Antique boat here. What a deal, we pay 450 in Michigan. Most states have the 60 -90 day rule
. Its about the same as for cars if you move into the state. It is a bit puzzling They make you register if you do not live there. Lots of snow-birds vacation
in Florida all winter and are not required to register cars or buy a road use sticker (license plate) The 90 day rule
in Michigan is seldom used. Especially of you are moving frequently, You will easily pass below the radar
. What if you are a foreign flagged cruiser?