Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-07-2012, 17:59   #1
Registered User
 
cheoah's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina, USA
Boat: Moccasins and pony
Posts: 996
Chesapeake Sunrise

I sailed my boat up to Annapolis from Oriental in June, great trip. When the wind shifted to the N, Force 6, I couldn't resist and had a great 150 mile day singlehanding to Norfolk. Chartplotter went out at dark, back to paper as I surfed past one commercial ship after another....and talked to all of 'em. Winds were gusting over 30, but had dropped considerably by morning when I shot this video. I was in wool and goretex, end of June. Just a couple days prior were heat advisories, and a few days after, the derecho bowled through.

It was the first time I used a window so aggressively - singlehanding. There were nasty storms still sweeping through Norfolk when I turned out of East Bay, but cool, dry, air quickly filling in from behind. It was a blast, with a few moments of terror, like when one behemoth just appeared from nowhere. I was completely alert, hand steering all night, but mattered not, as the TINY sidelights twinkled just like the buoy lights that led me south. I issued frequent Securite' calls after that, when I realized my native radar was poorly tuned...

__________________
cheoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2012, 18:47   #2
Registered User
 
mbianka's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,125
Images: 1
Re: Chesapeake Sunrise

Sounds like a great ride. Thanks for sharing it. Sounds like AIS would help a lot more than the radar. I thinking of installing it myself soon.
__________________
Capt. Mike
mbianka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2012, 16:44   #3
Registered User
 
cheoah's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina, USA
Boat: Moccasins and pony
Posts: 996
Re: Chesapeake Sunrise

Definitely Mike. I've got the Standard Horizon VHF w/ AIS, but chartplotter went down, and in turn, AIS. Going to change that setup, and need to step up to a transponder, really. The proximity alarm on my Standard is too quiet to hear under power, even at the command mic.
__________________
cheoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.