Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 12-10-2013, 23:59   #1

BVI Itinerary Help

Heading down friday for 10 Days on a Sunsail 444 catamaran. I have sailed the islands last year, but this year will be taking newbies. This is the itinerary that I have worked up. Please let me know what you think this is my first time to go down in October with the wind out of the SE.

BVI trip

Friday-October 18
Full Moon Party (Trellis Bay)

Saturday-October 19
Briefing on boat/ weather
Ginger Island (Good Snorkel Stop)
Anchor @ North Marina Cay

Sunday-October 20
Marina Cay
Travel to Virgin Gorda
Baths
Little Dix Bay (anchor if possible)

Monday-October 21
North Sound
Leverick bay

Tuesday-October 22
Saba Rock

Wednesday-October 23
Depart Virgin Gorda / Monkey Point (Guana Island)
Anchor Cane Garden Bay (Tortola)

Thursday-October 24
Leave early afternoon for Cruz Bay (St. John)
Clear Customs

Friday-October 25
Trunk Bay
Cinnamon Bay
Francis Bay (Anchor Francis Bay)
Dinner available @ Maho Bay

Saturday-October 26
Great Harbor (JVD)
Arrive Early Mooring Balls will be hard to come by
Soggy Dollar bar
Foxy's Halloween Party

Sunday-October 27
Norman Island
Willie T's

Monday-October 28
Depart Cooper Island for Road Harbour (Early)
Fly Home

Look forward to hearing from experienced BVI veterans.

Thanks

Old 13-10-2013, 03:56   #2

Boat: Jeanneau 57
Re: BVI Itinerary Help

It sounds like a nice trip, here area a couple of concerns/questions:

- A recent thread either here or on another sailing forum regarding anchoring a cat in Little Dix came to a unanamous conclusion that this was best not done.
- Will you sail from Cane Garden bay to Soper's Hole to clear out? As there can be a north swell which makes the anchorage there very uncomfortable (see below for a picture of the anchorage entrance from my boat after a swell during the night) you might want to anchor in Great Harbour on Jost van Dyke and clear out of the BVI from there instead.