Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-05-2009, 16:07   #1

Bareboat FL Keys - First Time

Hi Everyone,

New user here! First Post.

I am planning on taking my first bareboat charter in July. My idea is to do it around the Florida keys, since I have heard its relatively easy for a novice bareboater. I am hoping for a 4-5 trip.

I have some sailing experience, mostly from the lake, and some sailing on the ocean but not far from shore. I am planning on going with a few friends, one of whom has a little experience as well. The plan is to have 4 people on a 30-35' boat.

I wanted to get some opinions from all of you as to whether the keys are a good destination for a first time bareboater, and what sort of things I need to do to prepare for such a trip. Also, any recommendations for charter companies in the area would be helpful.

If the Keys are not considered to be a beginner friendly desitnation, are there any other suggestions? Preferebly within USA territory.

Thanks!
tintin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2009, 18:18   #2

Boat: Endeavour40 - MOBETAH
Although not in the USA ..... the Abacos in the Bahamas would be my first choice for a first charter (beautiful water, great sailing destinations within a few miles, resturants, bars ........damn, I want to go!) but would it require an airplane ride to get there. try: The Moorings (Abaco) - Yacht Charter Company Reviews - CharterExpert

Don't know where you are but the Apostile Islands in Wisconsin would be a good choice. nearby sailing destinations, resturants, bars, etc...... Although it is fresh, COLD water. try: Superior Charters :: Sail Lake Superior's Apostle Islands - Bayfield, WI

Good Luck & have fun wherever you go Bill A.
mobetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2009, 19:49   #3