Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 02-05-2014, 11:27   #1

Bareboat Chartering

Hey I just joined this forum to get a few questions answered so I'm hoping someone can help!

I'm a 20 year old college student and from the Chesapeake Bay area.

I've been sailing since I was eight years old and have crewed and raced mostly J105s since I was 11. I don't have a huge amount of cruising experience (only a few overnight trips around the Chesapeake) but I know my way around a boat, navigations, and how not to kill myself and everyone else on board when sailing.

I'm planning a trip to the BVIs with several friends from college (all around 20/21) to cruise for a week or two. One other guy in my party has some, though not extensive, experience sailing and cruising in Massachusetts, and the rest of the party is completely new to sailing. We were hoping that we could bareboat charter as it is cheaper and I think better than having a skipper just us around for a week.

I was wondering if my and my friends experience would be enough that we would be able to bareboat charter and how we would go about doing that.

Other info: 8-10 in the party, most likely a trip in late may/early june.

Thanks for all of your help!

Old 02-05-2014, 15:33   #2

Re: Bareboat Chartering

Quote:
Originally Posted by collegesailor View Post
Hey I just joined this forum to get a few questions answered so I'm hoping someone can help!

I'm a 20 year old college student and from the Chesapeake Bay area.

I've been sailing since I was eight years old and have crewed and raced mostly J105s since I was 11. I don't have a huge amount of cruising experience (only a few overnight trips around the Chesapeake) but I know my way around a boat, navigations, and how not to kill myself and everyone else on board when sailing.