Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-03-2012, 08:23   #1

Need Advice on Charter in Greece

My family is planning on chartering a boat with captain in Greece this summer (July 3) for a week. There are so many places to charter from, and in these uncertain time it's hard to know who is good and reliable without being a rip-off.

I would really appreciate advice on:
1) good, inexpensive, reliable charter company
2) I really wanted to sail the Cyclades, but am worried about the weather. Should I skip this and try a different area or should I consider a one way charter to avoid the beat back, or just go for it?
3) I have never used a Captain before, what size boat do I need for my familly of 5 (3 grown daughters, wife and me)?
4) What is the correct etiquette to use with a Captain. Meals and trips ashore do we always include him, sometimes include him, only for meals, what about tips, etc...?
5) Finally a big question, We are arriving in Athens on July 3, a Tuesday. What are the issues with starting a charter mid week (Tuesday or Wednesday)?

Any advice would be much appreciated, I have gone through the Greek "tips" posting, but I still have many unanswered questions.
leelovestosail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2012, 08:55   #2

Boat: Lidgard 50ft performance cat/ Canados50s
Send a message via Skype™ to beneteau-500
Re: Need advice on charter in Greece

I have pm you
beneteau-500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 17:55   #3

Re: Need Advice charter offer in Greece

We are also Chartering in Greece, during the end of August for a week one way from Athens to Mykonos.
I have had 6 yrs in a crew, racing but have never chartered before, though will have my ICC or RYA Skipper Cert.
Does anyone have any feedback on the company SailGreece?
We have been offered;