Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2017, 06:45   #1

Marmaris to Istanbul in January??? Weather???

I have a 36ft Beneteau Sailboat purchased last year, now in Marmaris (Turkey).
The Boat itself is well equipped and will have AIS and Radar so can cruise also at night in busy waters.

I have some sailing experience, a few weeks charter and a few weeks with my own boat, but mostly in nice weather, so not very experienced regarding storms.

I work in Istanbul, and thought it would be really cool to have the boat there. The problem is, I only have two weeks of vacation in late January...

I know nobody can predict the wind at that time, but i would be very happy if somebody experienced crusing the aegean could tell me if it is doable or complete madness.

my plan was to go with a friend, so we could go 24 hours a day.
If we could catch wind from south that would be perfect, if it is calm we could still motor and make 5 - 6 kn, the problem is that with northerly winds which seem to be prevailing, my boat is quite slow under engine against wind and waves.

The total distance is about 500 nautical miles.

What do you think?

Markus
The total
vw1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 12:08   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Re: Marmaris to Istanbul in January??? Weather???

3 -4,days southerly winds are much more common in the winter,it will probably be like sailing here in the uk during the summer!
you could be lucky with the weather,or unlucky,but plenty of places to duck into if conditions are not good.
take plenty of warm cloths and be prepared to motor like hell if conditions are right.
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 14:02   #3
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: FP Orana 2010, Hélia 2013, Catana C 47 2013, Nautitech 46 Fly 2018