Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-12-2018, 14:06   #1

Boat: Hunter 170
Lithium Battery Failures??

I did a bit of poking around and could not find anything.

I have always been the repair guy for stuff. I am new to sailing with a little Hunter 170. I have dealt with a lot of different repairs of electronic stuff. I have seen a lot of odd problems from weather and corrosion. This is across a wide variety of devices. I work with aircraft and aircraft ground systems, but I also help my brother with car stuff and people bring me a lot of different stuff to see if I can resurrect it.

I read about people doing conversions to the lithium batteries. What I am curious about is the failure of the batteries. Please do not take this as a I do not like them. I am just curious at this point about some issues. It is in my nature to ask questions and sometimes this gets me in trouble. Clearly these batteries are a great thing.

So a normal lead acid battery is pretty simple. While you can cook them electrical problems resulting in the batteries being at least partially unusable is pretty hard.

These Lithium batteries use a dedicated internal charge control system. They also have a bunch of connections internally that may suffer from corrosion. One picture showed normal crimp connectors I know will have issues in wet environments.

So I see two issues both leading to a failure of providing any power.

First is something disrupting the electronics. From an odd back feed like a motor that is not wired right to close lightining strikes. Close strikes are a problem as they set up a high voltage field that can cause failures of electronics some time after they occure.