Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-07-2019, 16:20   #1

Newby On The Chesapeake - Goin South

It looks like we will be buying a Beneteau 473 in Rock Hall, MD toward the end of the month. Plan is to spend a week or so there getting familiar with the boat and then sail to the Norfolk area. We will likely stay there for a couple of weeks so the daughter can see DC and then its south to Brunswick, GA.

I've sailed all my life and my last boat was a Stevens 47 but it has been 5 years since I sailed a big boat and I have zero experience on the Chesapeake. So any advice or strategy help is appreciated.

How long should the trip from Rock Hall to Norfolk take? Any tips on routing or good (cheap) places to stop on the way? Some of the marina's I have looked at online want over $150 a night for a slip, not from me! Decent anchorages?(though the heat may make that miserable) Cool things to do? Marina suggestions near Norfolk or the mouth of the bay area?

My initial preference going south would be outside around cape hatteras but the boat is ICW friendly so maybe that would be less taxing on the crew. We would need to make it in 2 weeks or so max.
Tspringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2019, 16:31   #2

Boat: Bristol 27
Re: Newby On The Chesapeake - Goin South

Dock rates will become lower as you head South.

Onancock, VA is $2.00/ft or you can anchor for free within 100 yards of the dinghy dock

Cape Charles is also $2.00/ft

Onancock and Cape Charles are Eastern Shore side

You can also anchor at Kiptopeke and when you get all the way down in Willoughby Bay

Up MobJack Bay are also many areas to anchor on the Severn river etc. Check active captain for more details
thomm225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2019, 18:00   #3

Boat: Hylas 49