Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2017, 18:17   #1

Bahamas in October

Hi, I am a new member and this is my first time posting a question. I have been boating for a very long time but generally coastal cruising on the East Coast. We are now living in Florida and want to take our 44 foot power cat to the Bahamas in October. There is so much we don't know that I'm not even sure what to ask. I would love to hear from fellow cruisers about their experiences and any insights they could offer.
Bill from Godspeed
vanderd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 18:30   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Re: Bahamas in October

Sharon's Blog on the voyage of the vessel DIRT FREE from Toronto to the Sea of Abaco
Old 06-06-2017, 18:37   #3

Thanks I'll check it out. We are on the Gulf Coast and plan to go thru Lake Okeechobee and then cross. Godspeed is a 44 ft Endeavour and our normal cruise speed is 6.7 knots. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1413.JPG
Views:	235
Size:	122.3 KB
ID:	149328
Old 07-06-2017, 09:18   #4

Boat: 2009 Leopard 37 Powercat

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanderd View Post
Thanks I'll check it out. We are on the Gulf Coast and plan to go thru Lake Okeechobee and then cross. Godspeed is a 44 ft Endeavour and our normal cruise speed is 6.7 knots. Attachment 149328
Hi,

I have a 37 foot powercat in Cape Coral, and have done the Okeechobee and Bahamas thing.

It's not hard. But slower than you might think. It's a couple days across FL, then a day south, then a day across, and as much time as you have exploring. October was when I went as well, and the weather was great, but almost everything in the Abacos was closed until first weekend of November. Only Nippers was open it seemed.

Anyway, have a great time.

David
David Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 10:39   #5

Explorer charts (gold standard for Bahamas charting) has a forum called