Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-05-2014, 16:43   #1

Boat: 1978 Cal 39 MKII Tall Mast
Tahiti during El Nino year?

Should I cancel my first big crossing from Hawaii to Tahiti next week?

I'm planning an out-and-back, 3 month cruise next week. 20 days from Hawaii to Tahiti, 2 or 3 weeks in Tahiti, then 20 days back from June 2014 to Aug 2014. However, I've been reading scary things like "reversal of trades," "unseasonal weather" and "summer HURRICANES!" due to a strong possibility of 2014 being an El Nino year. The crew and I have no hurricane experience, only plenty Hawaiian Island cruises in benign weather. I mean, South Point, Big Island was the worst we've seen which was more exhilarating and fun than scary.

The boat (Cal 39) is set up for big weather with storm sails, a drogue, heavy duty rigging, choice of 4 anchors (one being an abomination of a fortress anchor), etc.

I've been preparing for a year now and ready to go! Any predictions for SoPac weather from June to August, 2014?

Cheers!

Sent from my XT1030 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
beebopbogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 18:46   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Tahiti during El Nino year?

We spent a year in French Polynesia during the first year of an El Nino Period. Had only one tropical depression with winds reported at 50k. We were anchored deep in Oponohu on Moorea and the only issue was the heavy rain driven by the strong winds that found its way below in a few spots.