Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2011, 05:22   #1

Christmas Winds in the BVI

Hello all. I am new to the Cruisers forum and a novice sailor. That being said, I grew up on the ocean in Mass., motoring and hauling lobster traps and such, so am comfortable on the water. My question relates to chartering in the BVI in December (Christmas week). Is the water choppy or even rough as I have heard - - Christmas winds? I have two duaghters and a wife that tend to get seasick. Don't want my first charter to be my last. Please provide any advice on good times of bad times to sail the BVI. Thank you.
1stTimerMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 05:45   #2

Boat: 58 Taswell AS
Re: Christmas Winds in the BVI

It will be windier and can be rough in north exposed areas - not as bad in the channel.
speciald@ocens. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 05:55   #3

Boat: 40 Caliber LRC

Everything is close. Thats the nice part about hte BVI. If it is little choppy, sail to closer destination. In the BVI it is easy to change your plans in relation to distance. I have sailed there during Christmas. Great time. LOTS OF TRAFFIC. Lots of Credit Card Captains.

Bob
rnjpinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 06:32   #4

Exclamation Re: Christmas Winds in the BVI

I recall a passage from St Barts to St Croix in December where the christmas winds were steady easterlies at 20-25 knots and swells were 10-15 feet but the periods were very long. The next morning, found a lot of flying fish on deck. Exhilarating if you're going downwind.
Noname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 07:00   #5

Boat: Newport 28 MKII