Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-02-2014, 08:03   #31
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winter Bahamas - Summer BC
Boat: Lagoon 450, Bavaria Vision 40
Posts: 615
This is my installation to connect to a Raymarine backbone and an ICOM VHF radio for direct DSC calling. I uses the WM screen as a bridge which is great as a very low energy anchor alarm. Use it every day. Never gets switched off. Makes 4800 and 38400 on the same channel/to the same device unnecessary. I printed the cable connections on paper, glided it to Simone plywood and mounted a connector bar on it for ease of installation and potential later trouble shooting when things start to corrode after years of salt air.

I am in the process of installing the 12 buzzer alarm into my cabin connected to the BUZ+ connector top middle in the installation picture. The buzzer is lower frequency than most as with age one does not hear the high pitch sound anymore. I often do not hear one of the many buzzers even when near by. My wife has to tell me. I guess all young guys who decide in the frequency of the buzzers or it is a matter of larger sizer for lower frequencies. Definitely something the designers should consider.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1741072238.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	130.6 KB
ID:	76812   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4200099355.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	150.7 KB
ID:	76813  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-152180855.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	360.0 KB
ID:	76814  
__________________

__________________
roetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2014, 11:55   #32
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 976
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Pleased you think its useful S/V Alchemy! PC based systems are what I have the most experience with, and what I use personally. The PC is the heart of my install, and talks to everything via NMEA,ethernet, wifi and bluetooth. If you need a hand with anything, please don't hesitate to contact me. Doesn't matter if you don't want to purchase anything (although it would be nice if you did!!) always happy to talk boats!
__________________
Matt Paulin
Neptunes Gear Ltd
www.neptunes-gear.com
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2014, 07:46   #33
Registered User
 
S/V Alchemy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Boat: Custom 41' Steel Pilothouse Cutter
Posts: 4,511
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neptune's Gear View Post
Pleased you think its useful S/V Alchemy! PC based systems are what I have the most experience with, and what I use personally. The PC is the heart of my install, and talks to everything via NMEA,ethernet, wifi and bluetooth. If you need a hand with anything, please don't hesitate to contact me. Doesn't matter if you don't want to purchase anything (although it would be nice if you did!!) always happy to talk boats!
Thanks for the offer...Let's keep fingers crossed that I can get my boat reno finished and I'll sail to NZ for a proper review of what I've made needlessly complicated. First rum's on me.
__________________
Can't sleep? Read www.alchemy2009.blogspot.com for fast relief. Can't read? Avoid www.volumesofsalt.blogspot.com, because it's just personal reviews of sea books.
S/V Alchemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 15:26   #34
Marine Service Provider
 
Paul_DY's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Hi

Just wanted to interject and clarify one statement that Jeff made is wrong.....for the other statements you will have to decide for yourself ;-)

"the WiFi implementation in other products, like the DY, use insecure ad-hoc mode only. This means only one device can connect. If you have more than one tablet, phone, computer you can't use them all at the same time."

We originally did only support Ad-Hoc mode on our wireless products. We were the first company to market with a wireless NMEA product (our iAIS) and Ad-Hoc seemed to be a good solution at that time. Contrary to Jeff's statement, you can have more than one device connected in an Ad-Hoc network and it is the network protocol (TCP or UDP) that decides whether one device or all of the devices on the network receive the data.

For the past two years we have been supporting multiple (up to seven) devices all receiving the same data (using UDP protocol) and last season we changed to Access Point mode to allow Android devices to connect (Android does not support Ad-Hoc)

We intentionally did not introduce wireless encryption (WEP/WPA/WPA2) as we felt this added a level of complication the system did not require and if someone else really wanted to see your NMEA data, then what harm does it do ? Besides when you are sailing, no other boat will be within your wireless network's range.

OK - good to get that off my chest and in general I am not against companies blowing their own trumpets on forums, but please get your facts right about your competitors.
__________________
Paul_DY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 15:41   #35
Jd1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Boat: Catalina 36 MKII
Posts: 1,006
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Paul_DY, which company are you talking about ? Do you have a product that competes with the XB8000 and where all functions can be performed with a Linux based computer (including transponder configuration)?
__________________
Jd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 15:46   #36
Sponsoring Vendor

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Boat: Nordic 40
Posts: 206
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_DY View Post
We originally did only support Ad-Hoc mode on our wireless products.
Sorry Paul if my information was out of date. I appreciate the update and stand corrected.
__________________
Jeff Robbins, Nordic 40 "Vesper", New Zealand
www.vespermarine.com
jeffrobbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 11:09   #37
Registered User
 
S/V Alchemy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Boat: Custom 41' Steel Pilothouse Cutter
Posts: 4,511
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

I'll say one thing: this thread is more civilized than one involving anchors and anchor vendors.

Jeff and Paul (who may wish to change his status to "vendor" to avoid confusion), you both make excellent products that are on the cutting edge of both innovation and, if anecdotes are to be given credence, reliability and ease of use for venturesome cruisers looking for AIS transponder solutions.

I've been following your products for some time, and although they differ in some respect, I'd be happy to have either aboard my vessel. And I'm rather picky that way. Please, both of you, continue to contribute as I'm sure we sorry addledpated sailors are learning a great deal, even if we sometimes struggle to keep up.
__________________
Can't sleep? Read www.alchemy2009.blogspot.com for fast relief. Can't read? Avoid www.volumesofsalt.blogspot.com, because it's just personal reviews of sea books.
S/V Alchemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 17:30   #38
Registered User
 
sabray's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wash DC
Boat: PETERSON 44
Posts: 3,169
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

I have input at 4800 and out put at 38400 that's on the chartplotter. Could use nmea 2000 and reset the 0182 ports. The watchmate has out put ports too. So multiple choices on how to run the data.
These guys keep updating and making the software better. Now get that anchor alarm to the app guys.
__________________
sabray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 20:42   #39
Sponsoring Vendor

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Boat: Nordic 40
Posts: 206
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Just a follow-up to the question regarding Linux support for our vmAIS configuration utility. We now have a version available for Ubuntu 12.04, or later.

We'd like to get a few more people to try it out. So, if any Vesper Marine owners are running Ubuntu and would like a copy, let us know via an email to support@vespermarine.com
__________________
Jeff Robbins, Nordic 40 "Vesper", New Zealand
www.vespermarine.com
jeffrobbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 07:18   #40
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ithaca, NY
Boat: Leopard 38 Cat "Alesto 2"
Posts: 22
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

I just installed Garmin AIS 600 that feeds older Garmin 3210 plotter via NMEA 0183 high speed. On the second day it shows more than the first, is it loading code to the plotter? Plotter has never had software update, that would require spare chart chip. The plotter displays vessels but 4 out of 5 say "unknown vessel". Is there a problem with my unit, or do many recreational boaters not program their AIS units?
__________________
leehaefele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 10:18   #41
Registered User
 
NahanniV's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Finnsailer 38
Posts: 1,067
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffrobbins View Post
Just a follow-up to the question regarding Linux support for our vmAIS configuration utility. We now have a version available for Ubuntu 12.04, or later.

We'd like to get a few more people to try it out. So, if any Vesper Marine owners are running Ubuntu and would like a copy, let us know via an email to support@vespermarine.com
Good job on the Android APP ! I hope you are planning to bring those features to I Things as well. Good Idea displaying data in the APP.

Do you think that NMEA183 -> NMEA2000 translation of navigation data will ever happen ? I would like to be able to update my NMEA2000 instruments from my ships computer running OpenCPN.

Cheers,
JM.
__________________
NahanniV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 00:05   #42
Sponsoring Vendor

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Boat: Nordic 40
Posts: 206
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Thanks and I'm glad you like the new Android app. We're now working on an update to the iPad app which should be out soon. But I'm not certain if instrument displays will make it into this next update.

And yes we're still going to be doing the 0183->N2K conversions for navigation stuff like waypoints, routes and A/P control. We've just got a lot on our plate right at the moment but we're very keen to have it. Thanks for your patience!
__________________
Jeff Robbins, Nordic 40 "Vesper", New Zealand
www.vespermarine.com
jeffrobbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 00:57   #43
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mediterranean
Boat: Lagoon 380 #069
Posts: 112
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Hi Jeff,
I just installed our XB-8000 and I'm very impressed so far. The VSWR meter has been really handy in diagnosing a problem with our VHF cable. I know you are hard at work on updating the firmware. Is there a possibility that an API could be included. Or even your endusers could program in some of the PGN conversions.

I'm also involved in OpenCPN and use it constantly. It would be great if your device would be a little more open. I considered using my PC as a dedicated chart plotter and using the XB as the gateway to the NMEA network. I'm still holding out hope. Except for VHF and the backup chart plotter our boat is completely N2K. And it looks like it will be some time before OpenCPN gets there.

--Joe
__________________
yardie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 10:24   #44
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,642
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Quote:
Ok...I got the part where they are technically from NZ. Can you tell me where they are made?.
Quote:
They're manufactured by Vesper Marine in New Zealand and they are not made from someone else's design, modules, etc.
See post #4.
__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 21:49   #45
Sponsoring Vendor

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Boat: Nordic 40
Posts: 206
Re: Vesper Marine AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by yardie View Post
Is there a possibility that an API could be included. Or even your endusers could program in some of the PGN conversions.
Yes, there is currently an API. However, we are changing and extending it a lot in the next release so we haven't made it available to others yet. Stay tuned...

But adding additional PGN<-->0183 conversions requires firmware updates within the units and isn't something that endusers would be doing via API.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yardie View Post
I considered using my PC as a dedicated chart plotter and using the XB as the gateway to the NMEA network.
I'm very interested to learn more about what's missing to make this happen.
__________________
Jeff Robbins, Nordic 40 "Vesper", New Zealand
www.vespermarine.com
jeffrobbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, marine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.