Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2012, 23:01   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bonaire
Boat: Shin Fa 458 Custom Cutter but looks like a Liberty 458
Posts: 346
Xantrex Link 2000 gone crazy.

I installed my second Link 2000 3.5 years ago and it has worked fine till yesterday. I fired up my Honda 3000 generator and pushed the "Charge" button on my Link 2000 control panel. About 2 minutes later, it dropped from "Charge" to "Accept". Before starting the generator, it read -74 amp hours on bank #1 and -40 amp hours on bank #2. After pushing some of the buttons on the Link 2000, I found that the screen showed that battery bank #2 was a 0 amp hours and the charge rate had dropped to about 5 amps instead of the normal 20+. Bank #1 stayed fine and kept taking the amps and volts went up to 14.25 on both banks after a while.
After a couple of hours, I turned off the generator and as the night passed, bank #2 showed no signs of being used. It showed +5 Amps when we went to bed and was the same in the morning. Bank #1 was up to about -35 hours.
I've check all the parameters of the Link 2000 and they are the same as they have alway been.
Bank #1--220 amp hours and Bank #2 is 110 amp hours.
I fired up the generator this morning and it continued as it did yesterday.
One other note-- when the generator is turned off, if the amp hours show as a +, they get reset by the Link 2000 to 0. This happened on bank#1 but not on bank #2.
Do I need to do a master reset and reprogram the unit? Just not sure what it wrong but I've effectively lost 1/3 of my amp hours.
__________________

__________________
mestrezat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 10:27   #2
Registered User
 
Stu Jackson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC (Maple Bay Marina)
Posts: 6,385
Re: Xantrex Link 2000 gone crazy.

Seems you are going into float prematurely.

Is your Link running a Freedom combined inverter/charger? Are you familiar with this?

For everyone installing a battery monitor: The "Gotcha Algorithm" thread, a "MUST READ"

Link-series Charging Algorithms -- The "Gotcha" Factor!

DEFAULTS are factory settings that are made to be modified to suit your setup.
__________________

__________________
Stu Jackson
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, (Maple Bay Marina) SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 11:47   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 7,135
Re: Xantrex Link 2000 gone crazy.

That's the way the Link 2000 is. Quirky. I posted a while ago about the Link resetting to 0 amps used after turning off the charger when a second ago it was -70 amps. I finally gave up on mine when it stopped showing amps used. Zantrex no longer makes the 2000 and offered me a replacement 2000 (they must have a bunch of refurbished ones) for a few hundred bucks! Mine ended up as a $500 voltage meter. I got a Victron to replace it. Works fine and a lot cheaper.
__________________
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/beneteau393/
Vasco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 18:59   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasco
That's the way the Link 2000 is. Quirky. I posted a while ago about the Link resetting to 0 amps used after turning off the charger when a second ago it was -70 amps. I finally gave up on mine when it stopped showing amps used. Zantrex no longer makes the 2000 and offered me a replacement 2000 (they must have a bunch of refurbished ones) for a few hundred bucks! Mine ended up as a $500 voltage meter. I got a Victron to replace it. Works fine and a lot cheaper.
I'm sitting on the hard in Malaysia refitting my old Privilege 39 and need a charger inverter 240 volt. I have an address in the USA for freight consolidating. Wondering where I could source a Victron unit to do the job. My electrical man says 1500 watts and 75 amp would suit.
Any help is appreciated.
I have a few other items to buy, an Aqua Signal masthead tricolor/ anchor light being one essential. Again any pointers most welcome.
__________________
5baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:26.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.