Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-10-2017, 17:29   #16
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Adriatic Sea
Boat: Oyster 53 Cutter
Posts: 8,595
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

A hole saw cutting two openings, then installing two push buttons. Quick, cheap and easy... no leaks. Bulletproof. The switches seem to last for about ten years of usage, then replace.
__________________

__________________
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2017, 17:35   #17
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 20,150
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenomac View Post
A hole saw cutting two openings, then installing two push buttons. Quick, cheap and easy... no leaks. Bulletproof. The switches seem to last for about ten years of usage, then replace.
Have you ever put a hole in a balsa-cored deck? It's not that easy. You have to carve the core out and then fill it in with epoxy. It's a serious job, and if you screw it up, you ruin your deck. I've never put a hole in the deck of this boat so far, and don't plan to. The next boat will be metal and without these "challenges".
__________________

__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-ętre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2017, 17:35   #18
Registered User
 
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 585
Images: 4
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

I used Dri-Plugs for all on deck electrical/electronic connections above decks on my previous boat. I don't know why I didn't consider those products for my windlass install. I guess I just assumed a company that produced a quality product for a reasonable price couldn't last in today's marine market, and was out of business. Glad I was wrong.

John
__________________
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2017, 17:37   #19
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 20,150
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstevens View Post
I used Dri-Plugs for all on deck electrical/electronic connections above decks on my previous boat. I don't know why I didn't consider those products for my windlass install. I guess I just assumed a company that produced a quality product for a reasonable price couldn't last in today's marine market, and was out of business. Glad I was wrong.

John
I have one of those for my spotlight -- very nice plug. But I need three conductors for the windlass.

But as Noelex pointed out -- there isn't actually any real need for a connector -- I can just hardwire it. Just have to sort out the strain relief.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-ętre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2017, 18:01   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,730
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
I have one of those for my spotlight -- very nice plug. But I need three conductors for the windlass.

But as Noelex pointed out -- there isn't actually any real need for a connector -- I can just hardwire it. Just have to sort out the strain relief.
IIRC Dri pPlug does make 3 pin connectors. I used one for an Autohelm tiller pilot connector years ago when the mickey mouse Autohelm one died.

But I agree that no connector is needed in this application.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2017, 19:56   #21
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Adriatic Sea
Boat: Oyster 53 Cutter
Posts: 8,595
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Have you ever put a hole in a balsa-cored deck? It's not that easy. You have to carve the core out and then fill it in with epoxy. It's a serious job, and if you screw it up, you ruin your deck. I've never put a hole in the deck of this boat so far, and don't plan to. The next boat will be metal and without these "challenges".
Yes I have several times... windlass switches, ten solar fittings. It's not difficult, no problems.
__________________
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2017, 22:54   #22
Registered User
 
daletournier's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seychelles
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,120
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Have you ever put a hole in a balsa-cored deck? It's not that easy. You have to carve the core out and then fill it in with epoxy. It's a serious job, and if you screw it up, you ruin your deck. I've never put a hole in the deck of this boat so far, and don't plan to. The next boat will be metal and without these "challenges".
Disagree, it's very easy, my last boat was completely balsa, did it many times, including windlass install.
__________________
daletournier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2017, 03:37   #23
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 20,150
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

You guys are better shipwrights than I am, or at least, more confident. I've seen a ton of boats with soft decks due to leakage into the core, due to owner-drilled holes in the deck and owner-installed fittings. No way I'm going to take any risk of that just to avoid buying a connector for a handset I already have.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-ętre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2017, 14:08   #24
Senior Cruiser
 
River Cruiser's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UMR mm 283 /winter in Kansas
Boat: Bayliner 3870 41' oal.
Posts: 821
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

I used this wireless remote on my Muir windlass, it for use with a winch mounted on a Jeep or truck.

RAXFLY Universal 12V Wireless Winch Remote Control Kit for Car...
RAXFLY Universal 12V Wireless Winch Remote Control Kit for Car...
Sold by: FLOVEME
$12.99
In Stock
__________________
River Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2017, 06:21   #25
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,738
Images: 240
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
... I can just hardwire it. Just have to sort out the strain relief.
Kellems (or Bryant or Heyco,estc) Strain Relief Grips or Cord Connectors:
http://www.hubbell-wiring.com/press/catalog/V.pdf
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2017, 06:38   #26
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Adriatic Sea
Boat: Oyster 53 Cutter
Posts: 8,595
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
You guys are better shipwrights than I am, or at least, more confident. I've seen a ton of boats with soft decks due to leakage into the core, due to owner-drilled holes in the deck and owner-installed fittings. No way I'm going to take any risk of that just to avoid buying a connector for a handset I already have.
The older style Lewmar deck switches only require a hole small enough for the two wires.
__________________
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2017, 07:28   #27
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 20,150
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenomac View Post
The older style Lewmar deck switches only require a hole small enough for the two wires.
OK, thanks for that.

How do you use a deck switch if you are down in the anchor locker flaking the chain? Can you operate them with your hand?
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-ętre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2017, 16:26   #28
Registered User
 
CaptNemoO2's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Long Island
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 510
Posts: 114
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Bloody hell, that's expensive!

But . . . exactly what I was looking for. So thank you!
That's nothing! I just got a quote today for a milspec 90° backshell, $800. And that was only for the backshell, not the connector itself.

Don't get hung up on mill spec parts. Back in the day, military ruled the high reliability world. Now it's the commercial world that runs that. The feds are actively trying to move away from mil specs and go to commercial specs. Most connectors, switches, etc have commercial equivalents that are 1/10th the price. They're often even made on the same line (Honeywell does this). The only difference is the mil parts have 100% inspection to get on the qualified products list. We need to order from the QPL to meet our requirements.

Use digikey or mousers website, it's much easier. You can filter out to exactly what you want. Go for a poly connector, not metal. Hint, check the "in stock" box, otherwise you get false hope!

Click image for larger version

Name:	20171031_182217.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	158642

I'm using this connector which is waterproof. Its 115v AC for my microwave which is installed in the center island over my engine. The connector is close to the raw water strainer so I wanted an IP67 or 68 connector.
__________________
CaptNemoO2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2017, 16:40   #29
Registered User
 
sy_gilana's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On board
Boat: Van de Stadt 50'
Posts: 1,109
Send a message via Skype™ to sy_gilana
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Many years ago I hard-wired the windlass remote wire.
The switch, push-button, up only, I mounted in a PVC plumbing type end cap, a short piece of 2" tube and another end cap for the wire entry compression gland, the tube is short enough that the end-caps butt onto each other. One end cap glued, the other is friction fit.
It is bullet proof.
__________________
Tight sheets to ya.
http://gilana.org
sy_gilana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2017, 17:18   #30
Moderator
 
carstenb's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fast 40.3
Posts: 4,981
Images: 1
Re: Windlass Handset Connector

Dockhead, my jeanneau hardwired remote died on me a couple of years ago and like you I searched for a replacement but since I'm retired and don't own the Bank of England I simply couldn't get myself to pay the kind of money they were asking for a replacement.

Instead I found this. MUch better since I can keep it in my pocket or operate it with one hand and use the other with a boathook to get my chain to lay properly in the well.

best of all - only costs 12.99

https://www.ebay.com/i/232271398987?chn=ps&dispItem=1

very simple to install and it takes about a year for the batteries to wear down (with us anchoring out most of the time.) You also get 2 remotes so if one carps out - you can just use the other one
__________________

__________________
I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by
carstenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind, windlass

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ray230 Handset cradle Zero Tasking Marine Electronics 0 22-10-2012 11:11
Looking for Simrad Shipmate RS8300 handset ardoin Marine Electronics 0 25-02-2012 17:33
Want To Buy: Shipmate 2000 Handset usatraveler Classifieds Archive 0 15-08-2011 09:11
Want To Buy: Simrad Shipmate RS 8300 Handset David Shore Classifieds Archive 0 11-05-2011 16:52
Want To Buy: VHF Shipmate RS8300 Handset Only VVD Classifieds Archive 0 06-11-2010 05:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:18.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.