Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2010, 12:28   #1

Boat: Ericson 25
Will I Do Damage without a Regulator ?

I'm a novice at marine electrical systems and am beginning my journey to become more knowledgeable. Once I learn more I plan to make some updates to my boat's electrical system. In the meantime, I'm wondering if I can pick up two new batteries and use them for a few weekends without doing damage to them.

I just bought two Deka Marine Master Dual Purpose Deep Cycle Batteries (DP-24). I have a 25 foot sailboat with an inboard Volvo MD5A engine (9.9 hp). My specs say the alternator is 35A (420 W). I don't believe I have a regulator. We're thinking about taking a trip where we'd potentially run the engine for 4-5 hours (if there isn't enough wind) on two consecutive days. Given I don't have a regulator, would that much motoring do damage to my batteries?

Any advice would be appreciated
George
Ericsn25Chespk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 12:35   #2

Boat: Arietta 31 feet long keelOlle Enderlein
It is built in in the alternator no problems.
Charlie Barnacle Bills brother.
BUBBABADBOYNO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 13:55   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Valiant 40 (1975)
I just fried some very expensive batteries this way. I would suggest at least a voltmeter (can use a multimeter tool) to make sure your batteries don't go above about 14 volts while charging.
I would recommend a regulator for a long term solution.
s/v Beth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 16:13   #4

Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft
Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Beth View Post