Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-06-2014, 10:47   #16
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,373
Re: where to put a fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin A View Post
The auto reset breakers are common in the car and equipment world. You can also find them on digikey etc. Now technically they are a no no on boats. And this actually happens to be one of the few rules that isn't just ABYC but an actual coast guard enforced federal law.

FEDERAL LAW

183.455 - Overcurrent Protection: General

(a) Each ungrounded current-carrying conductor must be protected by a manually reset, tripfree circuit breaker or fuse.
That's an interesting bit of news. Maybe that's why I've never seen one on a boat before.
__________________

__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 10:51   #17
Registered User
 
sparrowhawk1's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami Beach Fl
Boat: Colombia Cc 11.8
Posts: 1,252
Thanks Colin. I've been spending a lot of time on this forum lately and jewels like that make it worthwhile
__________________

__________________
sparrowhawk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 10:51   #18
Marine Service Provider
 
Maine Sail's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maine
Boat: CS-36T - Cupecoy
Posts: 3,060
Re: where to put a fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin A View Post
The auto reset breakers are common in the car and equipment world. You can also find them on digikey etc. Now technically they are a no no on boats. And this actually happens to be one of the few rules that isn't just ABYC but an actual coast guard enforced federal law.

FEDERAL LAW

183.455 - Overcurrent Protection: General

(a) Each ungrounded current-carrying conductor must be protected by a manually reset, tripfree circuit breaker or fuse.
Bingo... And if the auto re-set breaker kept resetting into a dead short? D'oh....
__________________
Marine How To Articles
Maine Sail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 11:28   #19
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: where to put a fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin A View Post
The auto reset breakers are common in the car and equipment world. You can also find them on digikey etc. Now technically they are a no no on boats. And this actually happens to be one of the few rules that isn't just ABYC but an actual coast guard enforced federal law.

FEDERAL LAW

183.455 - Overcurrent Protection: General

(a) Each ungrounded current-carrying conductor must be protected by a manually reset, tripfree circuit breaker or fuse.
Correct me if Im wrong but 33CFR 183 - Electrical systems only apply to gasoline powered boats.

dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 11:30   #20
Registered User
 
Terra Nova's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Marina del Rey, California
Boat: Freya 39 cutter- Terra Nova
Posts: 3,645
Re: where to put a fuse

Colin--thank you for pointing that out.
__________________
1st rule of yachting: When a collision is unavoidable, aim for something cheap.
"whatever spare parts you bring, you'll never need"--goboatingnow
"Id rather drown than have computers take over my life."--d design
Terra Nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 11:34   #21
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: where to put a fuse

personally I think Terra Novas self resetting trip isn't a bad idea. You could place a non resettable CB to protect the circuit as 33CFR 183 requires ( even though its likely to be diesel ) and then use the self resetting as a load fuse

Personally I will not have a "fuse" , with the exception of high high current versions ( >80A) on board. Farr too messy trying to find a suitable fuse in an emergency. I install low amp CBs in the specific load circuit. ( as for "hidden" inline fuses, I can't reach for my snips quick enough)


dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 11:57   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: East of the river CT
Boat: Oday Mariner 19 , Four Winns Marquis 16 OB, Kingfisher III
Posts: 439
Send a message via Skype™ to Colin A
Re: where to put a fuse

Ah, you are correct about the diesel part. I knew the flotation parts of 183 went out at 20' and the fuel and ventilation rules were only for gas powered boats, but I never really noticed that diesel fuel exempted you from the electrical requirements. I guess it's because ABYC electrical guidelines include most of the same requirements. Either way it is important to note as there are more Atomic 4 powered boats out there then many realize (my father owns two of them) and ABYC also has a rule about the same thing.

11.10.1.6.2.4 be of the manual reset type except as provided in E-11.10.1.8.

In case your wondering the exception mentioned above is for devices with integral cirucit protection devices
__________________
mysite: Colinism.com
Work for
Bass Products
Colin A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 14:51   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Re: where to put a fuse

New offering from blue sea, its a circuit breaker block. I wish these were available back when I rewired my boat:

ST CLB Circuit Breaker Block - 6 Position with Negative Bus - Blue Sea Systems
__________________
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2014, 02:13   #24
Registered User
 
sparrowhawk1's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami Beach Fl
Boat: Colombia Cc 11.8
Posts: 1,252
Do I smell a vendor
__________________
sparrowhawk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2014, 10:21   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Re: Where to put a Fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparrowhawk1 View Post
Do I smell a vendor
No vendor here, I just posted something new that was germane to the thread that I thought others would like to know about.

I think if Blue Sea wanted to advertise here they wouldn't need little old me posting on a thread, they could buy an ad or twenty.
__________________
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2014, 10:55   #26
Registered User
 
sparrowhawk1's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami Beach Fl
Boat: Colombia Cc 11.8
Posts: 1,252
NP it's your first post so looks a little suspicious and vendors use this forum to push their product all the time
__________________
sparrowhawk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2014, 11:12   #27
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,373
Re: Where to put a Fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auger01
think if Blue Sea wanted to advertise here they wouldn't need little old me posting on a thread, they could buy an ad or twenty.


And welcome to the forum.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2014, 17:49   #28
Moderator Emeritus
 
Ex-Calif's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Boat: Maxi 77 - Relax Lah!
Posts: 11,514
Images: 4
Re: where to put a fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auger01 View Post
New offering from blue sea, its a circuit breaker block. I wish these were available back when I rewired my boat:

ST CLB Circuit Breaker Block - 6 Position with Negative Bus - Blue Sea Systems
Welcome to the forum.

I looked at this closely as I am doing a rewire.

I ended up passing as I can get the BS fused block and the ground bus separately cheaper (for ten circuits). The ad photos also show less than fully loaded up.

I think it will be easier to make nice wire runs if I don't have to make 24 connections(or whatever into one block.

Final thought for me was do I want the hot wires that close in proximity to all the ground wires? Future chaffing (10 years from now) and all that.

Finally I am going to have some circuits switched and some unswitched and will have to have a ground bus anyway.

Nice bit of kit if you have few circuits.

Just one person's opinion YMMV.
__________________

__________________
Relax Lah! is For Sale <--- Click
Click--> Custom CF Google Search or CF Rules
You're gonna need a bigger boat... - Martin Brody
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calculating House Bank DC Fuse size. Pelagic Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 1 28-07-2008 03:05
Starter fuse for outboard... Allan S Engines and Propulsion Systems 2 11-05-2008 19:27
Fuse between Battery(s) and Selector Switch Chief Engineer Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 27 14-01-2008 17:25
Voltage reading battery/fuse board seafox Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 14 28-07-2007 18:52
Fuse Protection Ted Beyer Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 17-05-2005 11:07



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.