Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-11-2015, 17:16   #16
Guy
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So. Oregon, USA
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,308
Re: Weak breaker? Switch?

So I'll be the stupid one here, why buy a 50a cord? Seems like you could carry 60 amps in a 30amp 110 cord if it were wired for 220. So put new plugs on the end of your 110 cord. Yes, I know a 50 amp 220 cord is a lot bigger than a 30a 110v cord.
__________________

__________________
Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2015, 17:45   #17
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 17,045
Weak breaker? Switch?

30 amp cord is three wire I believe. Never had a 50 but bet there are four wires?
Would think best answer is leave electrical alone and go to Diesel heat.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2015, 17:51   #18
Guy
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So. Oregon, USA
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,308
Re: Weak breaker? Switch?

[QUOTE=a64pilot;19697013
Would think best answer is leave electrical alone and go to Diesel heat.[/QUOTE]

Nope, go south. I have not used our heater for years and years.
__________________
Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2015, 18:57   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: Weak breaker? Switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy View Post
So I'll be the stupid one here, why buy a 50a cord? Seems like you could carry 60 amps in a 30amp 110 cord if it were wired for 220. So put new plugs on the end of your 110 cord. Yes, I know a 50 amp 220 cord is a lot bigger than a 30a 110v cord.
30a shore cord is 3x 10awg. so no you can't run 60a or 240v 4x10awg could run 30a 240v.

50a shore cord is 4x 8awg.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2015, 19:20   #20
Registered User
 
Macblaze's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Edmonton/PNW
Boat: Hunter 386
Posts: 433
Re: Weak breaker? Switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
Would think best answer is leave electrical alone and go to Diesel heat.
That's an interesting question. Can you run a diesel heater continuously? Wouldn't the wear and tear in the long run cost more than replacing your 30 amp cords every year?

SO MUCH TO LEARN...
__________________
---
Gaudeamus igitur iuvenes dum sumus...
Neverforever.ca
Macblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2015, 19:23   #21
Guy
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So. Oregon, USA
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,308
Re: Weak breaker? Switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
30a shore cord is 3x 10awg. so no you can't run 60a or 240v 4x10awg could run 30a 240v.

50a shore cord is 4x 8awg.
I just don't see where the 4th wire could possible go. Even Hoover Dam is a 3 wire system. I bet you can run 25 amps in a #10 wire, so in the 2 wires you could run 50 amps in a 220 v system, how far I don't know.
__________________
Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2015, 20:52   #22
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,037
Re: Weak breaker? Switch?

Mac-
There are thermal breakers, which are the most common and least expensive type, and magnetic (aka "Magneto-mumble-mumble-thing-or-other") breakers, which are more expensive and longer lasting. I'd go for the latter.
You might want to run eyes & hands over the entire AC system though, and make sure ALL of it is adequately sized and showing no heat damage, fraying, etc. Even if the PO starched his socks, you don't know what he might have done to the AC system. Good time to check for a newfangled concept like a proper GFI in the system, too.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2015, 10:14   #23
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Anacortes
Boat: previous - Whitby 42 new - Goldenwave 44
Posts: 1,735
Re: Weak breaker? Switch?

I agree with a64pilot on this. I should have thought of diesel heaters. They are what you need for what you want to do. You can use them at the dock and on the hook. BUT they can be expensive. My current boat has it and it also came with dual 30A shore power, with one system setup specifically to provide power to heaters or AC. That is expensive too, but probably the cheapest of all your options. NOT recommended to leave large electric heaters going on a boat unattended. That is by far the biggest cause of fires on boats in marinas.
__________________

__________________
exMaggieDrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery switch with shore power breaker keelsidedown Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 17 10-05-2015 21:46
Recommended Breaker Size for Ignition Switch ? sdowney717 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 27 18-11-2011 09:01
Breaker / Switch Failure Wakadui Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 8 10-08-2010 17:23
GPS signal too weak on Datamarine 5000 phorvati Marine Electronics 2 11-08-2009 15:26
Switch in Off Position Causes Breaker to Trip Patrick_DeepPlaya Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 03-08-2009 05:19



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.