Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2013, 08:39   #16
Registered User
 
Rusty123's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Poulsbo, Washington
Boat: Spirit 28
Posts: 195
In my opinion, this thread illustrates the advantage of connecting the house bank to a distribution bus(ses) (via a proper fuse), and then connecting loads (and charging sources) to the bus. Simplifies issues of OCP, bank balancing, wire clutter, etc.
__________________

__________________
Rusty123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:40   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Alert Bay, Vancouver Island
Boat: 35ft classic ketch/yawl.
Posts: 935
Images: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to roland stockham
Re: Voltage Drop Across a Breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by btrayfors View Post
If you're going to use AWG6 wire and connect directly to the house bank, be very careful of the type of fuse or breaker you choose. To be ABYC compliant, you must use one of three types of fuses:

ANL, MRBF, or Class-T

The MAXI fuses and "standard automotive fuses" are NOT appropriate, as they do not have a high enough ampere interrupt capacity (AIC) to be used in this way.

The above-referenced breaker is the only one readily available now which has a high enough AIC to connect directly to the house bank, i.e., at least 5,000 amperes.

Devices without sufficiently high AIC can fail in a shorted condition, causing a direct short and, possibly, a fire. That's the reason for the standard.

FWIW,

Bill
y reading of ABYC is that only one fuse at this standard is required so if you run main brakers or fuses directly off the man bank an then treat that as the main power stud it is fine to use automotive panels on secondary distribution panels which makes them cheaper an smaller.
__________________

__________________
roland stockham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:25   #18
Registered User
 
jonahmulski's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Moss Landing, CA
Boat: 41' Tartan TOCK
Posts: 44
Re: Voltage Drop Across a Breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by btrayfors View Post
The above-referenced breaker is the only one readily available now which has a high enough AIC to connect directly to the house bank, i.e., at least 5,000 amperes.
This is good to know, thanks. I'll look into the standards before moving forward.
At this point I'm moving in the breaker direction. The data sheet for the breakers that fit into my panel rates the interrupting capacity for the 30 amp breaker at 1000 amps at 50VDC. Unfortunately, they don't give me the capacity at 12VDC. I'll have to give them a call.
__________________
jonahmulski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:23   #19
Zil
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 239
Re: Voltage Drop Across a Breaker

The interrupt amperes would be higher for lower voltage and lower for higher voltage.
__________________

__________________
Zil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.