Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2019, 06:26   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Fl
Boat: Wauquiez Hood 38
Posts: 1,171
Victron induced premature floatulation?

2 200 watt panels each connected to their own Victron 100-30 controller.

Settings are identical on each controller for my Trojan T105 bank of 4 batteries.

As you can see I spend very little time in Absorption each day.

Batteries get to 14.8 (suggested by Trojan). The algorithm of Victron shuts it down when it hits 2 amps and goes to Float.

Smartgauge reads 100%.

Everything I have read indicates I am spending too little time in Absorption but the Smartgauge says 100%.

Your thoughts? Can I trick the Victrons?

The days where there is very little output from panels are the windy days where the wind generator keeps up with most things.

We are minimalist users. LED lights, fridge and phone charging.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190327-091800.jpeg
Views:	81
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	188779
__________________

__________________
Keth

Boat Vinyl Lettering and Graphics
Bleemus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2019, 06:37   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Fl
Boat: Wauquiez Hood 38
Posts: 1,171
Re: Victron induced premature floatulation?

Another shot . . . .Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190327-093633.jpeg
Views:	75
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	188780
__________________

__________________
Keth

Boat Vinyl Lettering and Graphics
Bleemus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2019, 06:51   #3
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Panama Awaiting Transit
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 1,940
Re: Victron induced premature floatulation?

The current metric for ending absorption is endAmps (rather than a specific amount of time). EndAmps is the point at which the battery is basically refusing additional charge and you are really just creating heat.

A typical value for endAmps is 0.5% of capacity. 4 x T105 @ 12V = 450Ah, so 0.5% = 2.25A. That’s where I’d want/expect Absorption to end and it sounds like that’s about where the Victron is ending it.
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2019, 06:56   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Brazil
Boat: Custom Swedish Vindö 50 (35 ft)
Posts: 589
Re: Victron induced premature floatulation?

Is it possible the batteries really are at 100% and your Victron is smart and doing the right thing and going to float? With your 240ah battery bank only accepting 2 amps it sounds like the batteries are full. How many Ah do you consume from sundown to sunrise?

I imagine you can also go into the setup and manually change the settings to increase the absorption time. I don't know your controller, but my Blue Sky allows me to set the absobtion time and voltage.

Another possible solution is to set float to a higher voltage, but only when you're on the boat to monitor charging.

I'm curious to see the replies from the real experts on this, as I have been asking myself the same question about my solar setup.
Copacabana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2019, 07:03   #5
Registered User
 
Hartleyg's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Boat: Tayana 48DS 48'
Posts: 105
Images: 4
Re: Victron induced premature floatulation?

I would agree that if the battery is full, you want to end the Absorption cycle and go to float, especially with a liquid cell that will just boil away your water if you overcharge. Perhaps you have the Bulk voltage setting a bit too high, so the battery is more charged than you intend when it shifts to Absorption?
If you are having to add water too much, then I'd look at the Bulk settings. IIRC, the only time setting in Victron for Absorption mode is a maximum time, not minimum.


Hartley
S/V Atsa
Hartleyg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2019, 07:08   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Brazil
Boat: Custom Swedish Vindö 50 (35 ft)
Posts: 589
Re: Victron induced premature floatulation?

Edit: I just saw Dsanduril beat me to it while I was typing...
Copacabana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2019, 07:25   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Fl
Boat: Wauquiez Hood 38
Posts: 1,171
Re: Victron induced premature floatulation?

Thanks gang. I believed my Smartgauge but started second guessing myself. Typically we wake up to the SG showing 84-89% SOC so it doesn't take much especially if the wind pipes up.
__________________

__________________
Keth

Boat Vinyl Lettering and Graphics
Bleemus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
loa

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Induced heel for bridge clearance Jammer Seamanship & Boat Handling 23 17-08-2019 11:26
Victron Energy Inverter irwinsailor Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 17-09-2010 08:09
This May Seem Like Some Drug-Induced Question . . . ude123 Off Topic Forum 58 26-07-2010 10:35
Victron MultiPlus vs. MasterVolt Masscombi BlueSovereign Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 05-09-2009 19:47
Motion Induced Fatigue (MIF) Puffin General Sailing Forum 26 10-02-2009 15:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.