Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2010, 02:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Victron BMV 600 - Issues Installing

Hey folks,

Has anyone had any issues installing the Victron BMV600? It seemed pretty straight forward, but I'm not getting any power to the actual monitor from the shunt. Just a blank screen.

I have checked all the connections, compared them to the manual and had a friend double check my work. The fuse on the "power" cable to the shunt is fine.

Am I missing something really obvious? I believe it's just supposed to turn on once connected to power although the instruction manual leaves something to be desired.

Thanks for any help,

Mike
__________________

__________________
mkeller23173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:16   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,586
Images: 240
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Mike.

Sorry that problems with your Victron Battery Monitor (#BMV-600) brought you to us. Here’s hoping someone has a simple fix.

I presume you have this 186 page manual
http://www.victronenergy.com/upload/...%20PT%20SE.pdf

As well as this quick install sheet
http://www.victronenergy.com/upload/...05-07-2007.pdf
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:53   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks Gord. Yes, I have both those things and neither are very helpful unfortunately.
__________________
mkeller23173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:48   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Mike,

The BMV-600 is a wonderful little device, and generally very easy to install. It's always possible that you have a defective unit, but before you declare it so check the B+ voltage AT THE SHUNT to be sure the wire and fuse are intact. Then, be sure the UTP cable is well seated at both the cable and the meter.

If these are OK, then I'd get in touch with Victron in Maine or the Netherlands. They're generally very helpful.

Bill
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:58   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks Bill, I hope to get down there this afternoon to test the voltage. Am I correct in thinking that as soon as the power is plugged into the shunt; and the UTP cable is plugged into the monitor that it will automatically come on right? There is no power button that I'm missing?
__________________
mkeller23173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:07   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkeller23173 View Post
Thanks Bill, I hope to get down there this afternoon to test the voltage. Am I correct in thinking that as soon as the power is plugged into the shunt; and the UTP cable is plugged into the monitor that it will automatically come on right? There is no power button that I'm missing?
Yes, when power is applied the BMV starts up in the normal mode. If you get nothing, and you've measured B+ voltage at the shunt, then either the BMV itself is dead or the UTP cable is defective. IMHO.

Bill
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 09:11   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
I had trouble installing my BMV, too. It came on but would read a constant (incorrect) voltage. I contacted them in Maine and they shipped a replacement (good service). I used the replacement to figure out what was wrong with the original, and it turned out to be the cable.
__________________
JayH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 09:17   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Well everyone problem solved. Bad fuse. Looked absolutely fine by thte naked eye, but when you put it through a multimeter, it's no good. Bypassed the fuse and all worked as expected.

Thanks everyone for all the ideas.
__________________

__________________
mkeller23173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Victron Energy Inverter irwinsailor Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 17-09-2010 09:09
Victron Charger and Equalizing? SoonerSailor Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 10-02-2010 10:37
Open Letter to Victron bobfnbw Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 24 08-01-2010 08:14
Victron 600 motion30 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 1 25-10-2009 22:13
Victron Vs Mastervolt Extemporaneous Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 11-02-2009 22:35



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.