Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2012, 09:33   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Victron 1000A Shunt



There are 4 big bolt(M10) on this shunt.
Do this 4 bolt(M10) all need to be connect to wire?
__________________

__________________
quartones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:24   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,757
Images: 32
Re: Victron 1000A shunt?

A 1000a shunt is a shunt capable of measuring some serious current. Usually to accommodate this you would use 2 cables of considerable size. Two in, two out. If you are using it for a single heavy cable application just use the most conveniently located studs.
__________________

__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:37   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Re: Victron 1000A shunt?

Thanks!
So If I have a heavy wire, I can just use one in one out?
If my wire is not heavy enough, I need two in two out?
__________________
quartones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 11:11   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,150
Re: Victron 1000A shunt?

No, not all the bolts need to be connected. The extra bolts are there so you can conveniently attach a second cable.

What size wire you need to carry 1000 amps is a different thing. The reason it has two bolts on each side is that it would take an enormous diameter cable to carry 1000 amps. It is more likely that if you need a shunt that big that you will be attaching two or more cables on at least one of the sides of the shunt.

__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 17:18   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,757
Images: 32
Re: Victron 1000A shunt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by quartones View Post
Thanks!
So If I have a heavy wire, I can just use one in one out?
If my wire is not heavy enough, I need two in two out?
yup.
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 19:59   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Re: Victron 1000A shunt?

Thanks,
one more question,the 2000A has 6 big bolts(4 on top side,2 on front side)
also one in one out, if the wire is heavy enough?
__________________
quartones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 06:57   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,579
Images: 240
Re: Victron 1000A Shunt

Where are you going to find wire rated at 1,000A or 2,000 Amps?
Have you any idea what size those ampacities would require?
How would you connect it to those terminal screws?

Notwithstanding, I doubt that you'd actually be metering a 1,000A (nor 2000A) load.

Remember, a shunt rating represents a RATIO, such as 1,000A current = 50 milliAmp to meter.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:31   #8
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Boat: CS27
Posts: 1,727
Re: Victron 1000A Shunt

The shunt isn't sized to the battery bank, but to power use. You most certainly don't need one rated for 1000 amps. And as GordMay said, wire that carries 1000 amps is not available off the shelf. The largest wire you will find on a boat is 4/0 and it is rated for 445 amps outside engine spaces and 378 amps in engine spaces. 2/0 is much more common.

What are the rest of the components in your system? Battery bank size, type of boat, expected draw, etc?
__________________

__________________
mitiempo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isolation Transformer: Victron vs Mastervolt vs Charles wilsodf Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 87 07-07-2016 13:33
Heads Up - Victron Isolation Transformer s/v Jedi Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 114 14-08-2013 03:08
Is My Victron Multi Dying ? Dreaming Yachtsman Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 125 18-01-2013 09:06
Victron Overload Light hummingway Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 27-01-2012 17:48
Xantrex Link Pro Sailagain Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 52 19-11-2011 18:54



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.