Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 16:58   #1

Boat: YS 35'
Very Baffling electrical problem

Ok- I will try to be very succint and clear- but first I will admit that I am a novice and very much in the learning phase.
The boat is 3 months new to me and is vintage 1981
I have 2 12volt batteries and a master battey switch.
For the time I have owned the boat all the electrical has worked fine. My mechanic says the alternator is producing power, checked wirth his meter a month ago. The battery charger hooked to shore power is keeping the system topped off.

Today I needed to move the boat from one marina to another. The weather was not so good and ultimately we had to turn back and until I get this resolved I am now paying double moorage- so Please any help will be greatly appreciated.

At the start of the day all was fine and the 12 volt system worked- cabin lights, VHF, water pump were used and worked fine (this was after shore power was disconnected)

Half way through this ill fated day I noticed that the VHF was quite. Shortly after we were back in the slip and discovered the following.

I have no 12 volt system- Cabin lights, water pump, bilge pump, VHF CD stereo nothing-
Now the bilge pump is wired in such a way the independant of the switch on the control panel, should the water in the bilge rise and trigger the float switch- the bilge pump would engage and pump the bilge. I cannot manually make the bilge pump work either from the switch on the panel or by manually activiating the float switch.
Interestingly enough- the 12 volt outlets work when the switch on the control panel for them is switched on. One at the helm and one outlet at the nav station. These will go dead when the switch marked 12 volt outlets on the panel is turned off.