Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-07-2012, 11:39   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: Moody 42
Posts: 235
Using a Power Supply without batteries

I currently have an old (don't know the brand) Charger/Power supply that run my 24 volt systems without going through the battery banks. I like this set up for living aboard in marina with shore power. I want to replace the unit and am looking at a Samlex charger/power supply. My 24 volt loads are my fridge, a portable freezer, a water pump and a few lights. I'm looking at a 15 amp unit. I think I read somewhere that it might be a problem for the fridge as they need to be run through the batteries. Any thoughts. I do have two battery bank with a separate charger, but I have a switch that by passes the batteries which I like as I don't need to constantly charge and discharge the banks.
__________________

__________________
Sailorman375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2012, 12:26   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 132
Re: Using a Power Supply without batteries

First thing I would say is, don’t fix what ain’t broke. If the unit you have is working correctly why would you replace it? The only problem you will face without the batteries available is a start load for your refrigerator and freezer especially if they were to try to start at the same time, i.e. after a power failure. Just my two cents, Mike.
__________________

__________________
Florida Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2012, 13:10   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: Moody 42
Posts: 235
Re: Using a Power Supply without batteries

The old charger is probably at least twenty years old and lacks the front cover, it's large, heavy and show corrosion. I guess It just plain scares me a bit.
If I need more amps so be it. I just want to sleep better, not having to worry about this old one burning up and starting a fire.
__________________
Sailorman375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2012, 20:19   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 132
Re: Using a Power Supply without batteries

If your present power supply has been adequate then replacing it with an equal sized unit should work just fine. I’m one of the type people that would take it apart clean it up and put it back together build a front cover and maybe even put a fire alarm close to it. I’ve found that a lot of older stuff is built better than the new stuff. Please let us know what ever you do. Again just my two cents, Mike.
__________________
Florida Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2012, 07:47   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oriental, NC
Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
Posts: 1,429
Re: Using a Power Supply without batteries

Battery chargers (power supplies to use your term) need to be hooked to a battery. The battery acts like a buffer and absorbs current spikes caused by motors starting.

You said that you don't want the batteries charging/dischargiing if you leave them connected. That won't happen except for a necessary fraction of a second to start a motor. If the charger output is greater than the electrical demands, the batteries will never be discharging. Also leaving a modern 3 step charger hooked up to batteries will not harm them.

David
__________________
djmarchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2012, 08:30   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Using a Power Supply without batteries

Our Iota battery chargers can run the boats DC systems without even having a battery attached. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2012, 09:43   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: Moody 42
Posts: 235
Re: Using a Power Supply without batteries

I know about Iota and this feature. I wanted to find a PS/Charger that in the future could charge multiple banks. Any other brands have this feature?
__________________

__________________
Sailorman375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.