Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2014, 10:26   #31
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,363
Re: Using a Combiner for the Fridge

Quote:
Originally Posted by onestepcsy37 View Post
What stu says. I never hook up to shore power even though I have 30 amp service and all the cables/plugs to do it. My solar panel/battery bank will keep the fridge running for weeks, maybe months.
yeah... why leave the fridge on?
__________________

__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 11:32   #32
Moderator Emeritus
 
Ex-Calif's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Boat: Maxi 77 - Relax Lah!
Posts: 11,514
Images: 4
Re: Using a Combiner for the Fridge

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Acr wouldn't work. You need 12v on both sides for it to engage.
Get a dual power fridge. It should be running off ac at the dock with DC breaker off. turn dc breaker on when leave dock.
I think some sense large under-volt on one side and will not parallel but others do not.

i.e. only needs to sense a charge voltage on one side.

But it is still not the right solution for this application. The LVDC looks like it would work.
__________________

__________________
Relax Lah! is For Sale <--- Click
Click--> Custom CF Google Search or CF Rules
You're gonna need a bigger boat... - Martin Brody
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2014, 10:36   #33
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Carolina
Boat: Philip Rhodes Custom
Posts: 395
Re: Using a Combiner for the Fridge

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Acr wouldn't work. You need 12v on both sides for it to engage.
Get a dual power fridge. It should be running off ac at the dock with DC breaker off. turn dc breaker on when leave dock.
The Yandina Combiner does not need 12 volts both sides to work. It would automatically turn the frig on any time the source voltage was over 13 volts.
__________________
Andina Marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2014, 21:58   #34
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,699
Re: Using a Combiner for the Fridge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andina Marie View Post
The Yandina Combiner does not need 12 volts both sides to work. It would automatically turn the frig on any time the source voltage was over 13 volts.


finally a use for the yandina. 10awg would be safe for a fridge circuit.

you'd still need a bypass circuit so the fridge can be used while using the boat.

and if you forgot and left the bypass switch on when you came and tied up to the dock, you'd still be in the same situation as you are now. something that would cut out with voltage would be auto all the time with no manual intervention needed.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2014, 22:49   #35
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Carolina
Boat: Philip Rhodes Custom
Posts: 395
Re: Using a Combiner for the Fridge

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
finally a use for the yandina. 10awg would be safe for a fridge circuit.

you'd still need a bypass circuit so the fridge can be used while using the boat.

and if you forgot and left the bypass switch on when you came and tied up to the dock, you'd still be in the same situation as you are now. something that would cut out with voltage would be auto all the time with no manual intervention needed.
In fact the Combiner100 has provision for automatically bypassing when the boat is in use, a simple jumper from the remote control to +12 on the DC panel would allow fridge operation and disable it when the tied up at the dock except when shore power is charging.

Despite your vendetta to downgrade our Combiners for using 10 gauge connection cables, we have been manufacturing them now for over 21 years, all with UNCONDITIONAL warranty and there has never been a warranty return due to the 10 gauge cables being inadequate. If you did manage to overload it, all our Combiners have self resetting thermal shutdown that is monitoring cable temperature and will limit maximum temperature to about 85C.

Your confusion arises from ignorance on the published specifications regarding maximum current for various gauge wires. Those specifications are based on percentage voltage loss over DISTANCE which is important for having sufficient voltage at the destination. With a rating of 55 amps, a cable doesn't suddenly melt when you put 56 amps through it.

The resistance of the Combiner100 cables is 0.003 ohms so the voltage loss on a maximum load of 100 amps is 3/10 volt. But as the current drops during charging, the voltage drop across the Combiner100 also drops to zero so the batteries get a full charge.
__________________
Andina Marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2014, 00:32   #36
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,205
Re: Using a Combiner for the Fridge

[quOTE=Andina Marie;[/quote]
I'm SOrRY.

You're math does not compute.

Your equation, failed.

V-Drop is measured by cable length X 2, or round trip between V+, and V-...

So R is a factor of L.

????? what were you thinking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andina Marie View Post
In fact the Combiner100 has provision for automatically bypassing when the boat is in use, a simple jumper from the remote control to +12 on the DC panel would allow fridge operation and disable it when the tied up at the dock except when shore power is charging.

Despite your vendetta to downgrade our Combiners for using 10 gauge connection cables, we have been manufacturing them now for over 21 years, all with UNCONDITIONAL warranty and there has never been a warranty return due to the 10 gauge cables being inadequate. If you did manage to overload it, all our Combiners have self resetting thermal shutdown that is monitoring cable temperature and will limit maximum temperature to about 85C.

Your confusion arises from ignorance on the published specifications regarding maximum current for various gauge wires. Those specifications are based on percentage voltage loss over DISTANCE which is important for having sufficient voltage at the destination. With a rating of 55 amps, a cable doesn't suddenly melt when you put 56 amps through it.

The resistance of the Combiner100 cables is 0.003 ohms so the voltage loss on a maximum load of 100 amps is 3/10 volt. But as the current drops during charging, the voltage drop across the Combiner100 also drops to zero so the batteries get a full charge.
__________________
FlyingCloud1937 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2014, 01:26   #37
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Carolina
Boat: Philip Rhodes Custom
Posts: 395
Re: Using a Combiner for the Fridge

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingCloud1937 View Post
I'm SOrRY.

You're math does not compute.

Your equation, failed.

V-Drop is measured by cable length X 2, or round trip between V+, and V-...

So R is a factor of L.

????? what were you thinking?
The Combiner100 comes with 3 feet of 10 gauge cables installed.
10 gauge cable is 1 0hm per 1000 feet.
So resistance is 3/1000 or 0.003 ohms.

There is no charging current in the ground lead of the Combiner so there is no "round trip". There is no "round trip between V+, and V-". Power comes in one side, travels 3 feet and goes out the other side. They are connected V+ to V+, battery to battery. If you need more than 3 feet you can add as much cable as you like of whatever gauge you like.

What's your problem? If you don't like our Combiners that's fine but when you conduct a vendetta to publish false information I have to correct it.
__________________

__________________
Andina Marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-stage charger problems when used with 2 bank combiner ? sailgreen Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 20 23-12-2011 14:01
Shorepower Charger and Combiner macbeth Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 29 04-08-2011 07:59
Battery Combiner Tomtom39 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 18 03-03-2011 09:49
Series Combiner or ACR ? SV Demeter Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 14 10-06-2010 08:29
PathMaker Battery Combiner Override markpj23 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 24-12-2009 11:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.