Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-11-2018, 20:29   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand sailing Malaysia thailand
Boat: Ericson/Gulfstar 50/ Noresman 447
Posts: 55
To much voltage an amps

Hi
I have had to replace my old alternator with an identical one from the manafacture. (Beta Marine 60hp) alternator is 120 amp
I have a Balmar 614 regulator also fitted, I have converted the alternator to external regulator with the use of a factory supplied brush box.

On running up the unit I am now getting up to 110 amps an upwards of 15.8volts,
The batteries are around 560amp in total an are near fully charged.

I have tried to get the balmar regulator unit to prevent this high load but with no success.
Can any one assist please with ideas.

Regards
Phil
__________________

Basil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 20:33   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 7,692
Re: To much voltage an amps

You can reduce the max amp output by setting the belt manger value on the Balmar. This keeps the amps down so as to put less strain on the belt.
The max voltage should depend on the battery model you chose when setting up the Balmar.
__________________

__________________
Paul
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 22:42   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12,575
Re: To much voltage an amps

Unless the regulator is broken.

Have you read the manual?

Also
https://marinehowto.com/programming-...age-regulator/
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 05:13   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 131
Re: To much voltage an amps

Wind back the voltage to something far more sensible like 14.2 and the current will drop....
mickt243 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 05:33   #5
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,613
Re: To much voltage an amps

Basil,

Are you measuring the voltage at the batteries? If so, it sounds like something is not wired or programmed correctly. The regulator has a battery sense wire that will prevent the battery voltage going so high. If the sense wire is connected correctly what voltage does the regulator report on the digital display? If it reports almost the same high voltage maybe the regulator is not programmed correctly. Or perhaps the field wire to the alternator is not wired correctly.
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 05:42   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 801
Images: 1
Re: To much voltage an amps

It does sound like something isn't wired correctly, and you are getting full field and full alternator output. This assumes your Balmar is still programmed correctly, which it presumably would still be after the alternator swap.


A simple test would be to disconnect the Balmar field wire and see if the alternator stops generating power. It should. If the alternator keeps outputting, then I'd guess you didn't do the conversion correctly, and the field is being driven internally in the alternator.


Oh, a less intrusive way to test if you have the right equipment would be a clamp ammeter on the Balmar field wire. My guess is that you will find zero field current, indicating that the Ba;mar isn't driving the field winding, and that it's being driven some other way.
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 06:29   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,663
Re: To much voltage an amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Basil,

Are you measuring the voltage at the batteries? If so, it sounds like something is not wired or programmed correctly. The regulator has a battery sense wire that will prevent the battery voltage going so high. If the sense wire is connected correctly what voltage does the regulator report on the digital display? If it reports almost the same high voltage maybe the regulator is not programmed correctly. Or perhaps the field wire to the alternator is not wired correctly.

I second this suggestion. I had an ARS5 wired direct to the alternator as shown in the manual, and was getting 15+ amps. Dale and others suggested to relocate the positive sensing wires (sense & power, in my case with the ARS5) to the battery positive. Then they wanted me to remove the black and relocate it directly to the bank negative. This solved the problem. Before that I had cleaned all connections and tightened them, and I had not had a problem for years with the wires direct to the alternator, but moving them to the house bank fixed it.


Along with that you need to add an ACR Combiner to charge the start/reserve automatically provideed the chemistry is compatible, and to realize that with a 3way switch (if you have one) on the start/reserve bank, then alternator is sensing the other bank so it will try to overcharge the start/reserve bank.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2018, 04:34   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand sailing Malaysia thailand
Boat: Ericson/Gulfstar 50/ Noresman 447
Posts: 55
Re: To much voltage an amps

Thanks very much for all the great help, I am slowly working through the suggestions which have been very helpful.
At this stage I am looking very hard at either several or all batteries being faulty.
They were all tested at the start of this sarga An were ok, but as an added problem the inverter failed to work showing a low battery light (Victon battery charger inverter).
I have now shut down all power (wind an solar) An will leave the batteries 24hours to see result.
Once again thanks very much to the site an contributors for your help.
The positive is I now a lot more knowledgeable in this are
Basil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2018, 06:03   #9
Are you serious?
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: currently in Boot Key/Marathon Fl
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 15,663
Re: To much voltage an amps

I don't feel that a bad battery could cause your alternator/regulator to be putting out a high voltage.

Your system kind of sounds like it is stuck in equalize mode. Did you reprogram the regulator during install? Have you tried resetting the regulator to factory default programming to see what happens.
__________________
jobless, houseless, clueless, living on a boat and cruising around somewhere
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2018, 06:12   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
Maine Sail's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maine
Boat: CS-36T - Cupecoy
Posts: 3,062
Re: To much voltage an amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basil View Post
Hi
I have had to replace my old alternator with an identical one from the manafacture. (Beta Marine 60hp) alternator is 120 amp
I have a Balmar 614 regulator also fitted, I have converted the alternator to external regulator with the use of a factory supplied brush box.

On running up the unit I am now getting up to 110 amps an upwards of 15.8volts,
The batteries are around 560amp in total an are near fully charged.

I have tried to get the balmar regulator unit to prevent this high load but with no success.
Can any one assist please with ideas.

Regards
Phil

-What bank is the alternator B+ terminal (output) charging?

-What bank is the MC-614 sensing (terminal #9)?


The above questions, and resolving them if incorrect, are the most common mistake for what you are seeing..

A wiring diagram of how it is connected, even if just chicken scratch, would help..


Alternators and Voltage Sensing (LINK)






.
__________________
Marine How To Articles
Maine Sail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2018, 20:43   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand sailing Malaysia thailand
Boat: Ericson/Gulfstar 50/ Noresman 447
Posts: 55
Re: To much voltage an amps

Charging house bank,
Sensor is connected to feed to starter motor which is a direct feed from batteries, so should be sensorineural the batteries
Basil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2018, 04:20   #12
Marine Service Provider
 
Maine Sail's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maine
Boat: CS-36T - Cupecoy
Posts: 3,062
Re: To much voltage an amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basil View Post
Charging house bank,
Sensor is connected to feed to starter motor which is a direct feed from batteries, so should be sensorineural the batteries
Sounds like your sensing the start bank but charging house.. This would explain the high voltage on house.. if you read the link I posted above it will explain in detail how this can happen..
__________________

__________________
Marine How To Articles
Maine Sail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solar amps in, consumption amps out, check my math please? Jarel Design Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 24 26-04-2017 17:13
Amps v Amp hours v Amps/Hr StuM Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 255 25-01-2016 15:21
Recharge Based on Amps or Voltage zboss Marine Electronics 15 20-08-2013 20:31
Voltage Drop . . . How Does it Affect Amps? MarkJ Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 43 17-08-2011 14:41
Voltage drop under load, amps read 99% ?? VVD Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 25 28-06-2011 16:25

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.