Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-07-2010, 08:35   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Living & cruising east coast US and Carribean
Boat: Lagoon 380 "Winds Aloft"
Posts: 12
Switching Single Generator and Two Shore Power Inputs

I want to switch my 8.5 kw 120V genset onto two separate AC shore power busses. I can't find any generator transfer switches made to accomodate this, but it seems many yachts do have such a system. What transfer switch are they using? Ideas, anyone?
__________________

__________________
winds aloft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2010, 09:58   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
I have Krauss & Naimer switches. Kraus and Naimer products

If you're in the US, I suggest you call the people at Custom Marine Services in SC (cmsquick.com). I have bought switches from them and they were very helpful. I think I have also seen the K&N switches rebranded (Blue Seas)?
__________________

__________________
JayH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2010, 13:31   #3
Commercial Member
 
CharlieJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Gulfstar Long Range Trawler; 53'; BearBoat
Posts: 835
To make sure I am clear, do you want to supply both 120 VAC panel busses with the output of your generator? Shore power will not be involved when in this configuration, correct?

Charlie
__________________
Charlie Johnson
JTB Marine Corporation
"The Devil is in the details and so is salvation."
CharlieJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2010, 07:57   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Living & cruising east coast US and Carribean
Boat: Lagoon 380 "Winds Aloft"
Posts: 12
That is absolutely correct, Charlie J!
__________________
winds aloft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2010, 08:13   #5
Commercial Member
 
CharlieJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Gulfstar Long Range Trawler; 53'; BearBoat
Posts: 835
winds aloft-
Often times gated double pole circuit breakers are a better option for selecting different sources. See, for example, Blue Sea Systems offerings at: AC 3 Sources - Horizontal - PN 8498 - Blue Sea Systems

CharlieJ
__________________
Charlie Johnson
JTB Marine Corporation
"The Devil is in the details and so is salvation."
CharlieJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2010, 10:16   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,573
Images: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieJ View Post
winds aloft-
Often times gated [sic: Lockout Slide] double pole circuit breakers are a better option for selecting different sources...
Exactly!

Lockout slides are separately available.

4130/4131 ➥
http://bluesea.com/category/8/33/productline/233
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lockout Slide.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	82.3 KB
ID:	17970  
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2010, 05:41   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Living & cruising east coast US and Carribean
Boat: Lagoon 380 "Winds Aloft"
Posts: 12
That's what I'm currently using. However when I add the second shore power, I'm wondering what's the best way to get a single generator to power both busses ( and disconnect from the two separate shore power lines)
__________________
winds aloft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2010, 16:36   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,424
Use a 4-pole transfer switch. The incoming (2) shorepower utilize one position, the generator the other. Shorepower one connects to #1/#2 and shorepower 2 connects to #3/#4. On the generator position, strap #1 to #3 and #2 to #4, connect the generator to #1 & #2. The boat busses are #1/#2 and #3/#4.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2010, 07:47   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Living & cruising east coast US and Carribean
Boat: Lagoon 380 "Winds Aloft"
Posts: 12
FWIW- I ended up using a system of breakers for switching similiar to the setup pictured above by Gordmay, the difference being that I used the leftmost column of my distribution panel vs. horizontally. It works perfectly and is idiot-proof as well with the lockouts...
__________________

__________________
winds aloft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, shore power

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore Power Help b-rad Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 17 27-09-2009 21:28
Shore Power - 30amp Max? ViribusUnitis Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 13 04-07-2009 10:37
Battery Charger, Shore Power and Generator? motion30 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 13 20-06-2009 15:02
shore power kenpatt Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 8 20-05-2008 13:50
Shore Power Crak Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 24 05-07-2007 03:41



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.