Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2018, 06:50   #1

Location: Boat is currently at a marina in Point Richmond, CA
Boat: Pacific Seacraft "Crealock" 34'
Stuck in Mexico: need advice

Hello all: I returned to my boat A couple of days ago in Guaymas, and found that all four of my house batteries were drained, measuring 4.9v. The starter battery was good and charged. All are lifeline AGM's, purchased and installed about three years ago all at the same time. I have been charging each one separately, and think I've isolated one of the batteries as bad, since it simply will not take a charge. I'm assuming it drew down all the others. I am also told that he could have been an issue here. Now, I studied liberal arts in school, so my brain doesn't work very well when it comes to science or electronics or electricity. I have a couple of questions and I hope someone can help me, speaking very basic English. Assuming I cannot get an AGM battery where I am right now, can I pull out The one house battery that does not seem to be good, and connect the others together? If I can get an AGM battery here, is it smart to install one new one with a bank of older ones? And thirdly, if I'm forced to replace them all with standard lead acid batteries, which I assume you can get anywhere, should I also replace the starter battery, since it's an AGM? Any assistance and guidance would be deeply appreciated. Thanks
jenders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 08:04   #2
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF
Re: Stuck in Mexico: need advice

First off, rework your system when you get the chance,

say after replacing the batteries,

so your House bank is used, charged and depleted, as all one bank.