Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-05-2010, 14:27   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
Stacking Inverters

my catalina 30 has a xantrek 1000watt invertor onbaord which works for most things but am curious if i could stack another 1000 somehow and get closer to 2000 watts as the 1000 just isnt quite big enough for my microwave. is this easily done is it as simple as hooking up another 1000? thanks
__________________

__________________
davevancat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 14:31   #2
Registered User
 
S/V Illusion's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lakewood Ranch, FLORIDA
Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 1,692
Rhetorical question - How would you plug one microwave into two inverters?
__________________

__________________
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 14:37   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
the way it was explained to me was you take a lead off of 1 invertor 1 off the other invertor and connect them to a single plug. now i dont know if you need a specific type of invertor to do this or if this will work. any invertor genius's out there have any ideas. tanks
__________________
davevancat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 15:03   #4
CF Adviser
 
Bash's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sausalito
Boat: 14 meter sloop
Posts: 7,260
Rhetorical question #2: How would you get the two inverters to be in phase with each other?
__________________
cruising is entirely about showing up--in boat shoes.
Bash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 15:16   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Seattle area (Bremerton)
Boat: C&C Landfall 39 center cockpit "Anahita"
Posts: 1,076
Images: 6
inverter time-power curve

Inverter stacking requires that they be designed to do so from the factory in order to phase them under all operating conditions. Yours will not do that.

Regardless, your inverter should be capable of driving any microwave on the market because the power versus time capability before overheating is about two-plus kW down to about 1kW over a 15 minute to 30 minute time span. If yours will not do this it is because the input voltage is too low when your unit "kicks out". Your battery bank and wiring should be such that the voltage at the INPUT of the inverter is equal to or greater than 12.0 Volts at the end of about 10 minutes of continuous (100%) use. If not, your setup is deficit.

Measure the volage while under load, not after the microwave turns off.
__________________
"I don't think there'll be a return journey Mr. Frodo". Samwise Gamgee
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 15:22   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almería, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,551
Take a look around on the victron site, I was searching for a manual the other day, they have a document describing how to do that - apparently you can link any number of theirs (but theyre pricey)
__________________
sv Libertalia
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 15:50   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29° 49.16’ N 82° 25.82’ W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,368
With a 12V DC battery you can connect 2 100 amphour batts in parallel and get 200 amphour capacity. The capacity of the two batteries adds together.

AC doesn't work that way. AC = alternating current. In the US that current alternates from -120V to +120V 60 times a second (60 Hertz). To connect two different sources of AC you have to make the + and - cycles of the different sources synchronize so both go the same way at exactly the same time. In electronic terms that is in phase.

To do this takes a special circuit which is not part of most AC inverters. The only one I know of which was mentioned already is Victron. They are very good but not cheap.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 16:07   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post
The only one I know of which was mentioned already is Victron. They are very good but not cheap.
Outback is also stackable. I think Magnum can be stacked, but I'm not positive.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 16:52   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Elsewhere on the Water
Posts: 571
I have stacked Trace 4024 inverters on my boat. Trace was bought by Xantrek and they are still selling and supporting such units. I do not know if your models have that functionality or not. I also think that "stacking" may serve a different purpose than you intend.

With one inverter you would get 1 KW of 120v power available. With two stacked inverters you would get 2 KW of 120/240 volt power. The stacked system enables serving a panel like those in our homes where two pole breakers give you 240 volts and single pole breakers supply 120 volts. For your purpose you could simply add a second inverter and run additional 120 volt breakers from it.

If you are supplying a 120 volt panel from your inverter, you would be better served to replace your 1 KW unit with alarger one instead of adding a second unit. The second unit would have to supply a second panel. The inverter outputs can not be connected in parallel.
__________________
St. Elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 17:35   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
thanks everyone my microwave is a m/w convection oven combo styel ive only tried this once but when i try to start the convection oven it just kicks out the invertor
__________________
davevancat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2010, 17:41   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
What is the current draw from your batteries when it kicks out and what is the voltage input to your inverter?
__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:30   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Fort Myers cruising to the Chesapeake Bay real soon.
Boat: Carri Craft, Casa Grande, 57' "White Feather"
Posts: 69
Images: 1
It seems to me that there is to much technical gargon involved. Just replace the 1000 with a 2000. Sell or store the 1000 in case of a 2000 failure. Maybe even add a battery or two in the supply bank. Another thought... deep six the microwave. My solution is to just to use the genset. Running a microwave is done for very short intervals. Use the generator.
__________________
White Feather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:56   #13
Registered User
 
S/V Illusion's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lakewood Ranch, FLORIDA
Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Feather View Post
It seems to me that there is to much technical gargon involved. Just replace the 1000 with a 2000. Sell or store the 1000 in case of a 2000 failure. Maybe even add a battery or two in the supply bank. Another thought... deep six the microwave. My solution is to just to use the genset. Running a microwave is done for very short intervals. Use the generator.
how does a generator replace a microwave's function?
__________________
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:05   #14
Registered User
 
Olorin's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Fortuna, Island Spirit 400, 40ft. Catamaran - S/V One White Tree
Posts: 115
Using a generator in place of a microwave.

Quote:
Originally Posted by S/V Illusion View Post
how does a generator replace a microwave's function?
You balance the can of beans that you want to heat up on the generator's housing and turn on the generator. If the can doesn't vibrate off the beans will be hot in about an hour.

Note: Only works for beans in cans with sticky bottoms.
__________________
"And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick's over."
John Masefield
Olorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:25   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Fort Myers cruising to the Chesapeake Bay real soon.
Boat: Carri Craft, Casa Grande, 57' "White Feather"
Posts: 69
Images: 1
You got it Olorin, Works every time. Don't forget to poke a hole in the tin or it will cover the generator room with beany's.
__________________

__________________
White Feather is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use of Inverters 04 Marine Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 36 29-01-2014 12:18
Cheap Inverters ? Gnitfar Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 14 10-03-2010 21:32
Inverters, AC Power, etc... What would you do? ssullivan Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 21 15-11-2008 14:00
Inverters Jacothebrave Marine Electronics 6 29-03-2008 22:43
Stacking Dinghy Badsanta Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 2 23-01-2008 18:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.